Root Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
even though we followed the recipe, they ended up completely flat. Not sure why they ended up soggy and flat, but we ended up crumbling it all up and it was a fantastic vanilla ice cream topper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supergimpman4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Unique cookies packed with flavor! A slightly easier recipe (without buttermilk) for this would be to use a box of white or yellow cake mix, 2 eggs, and 1/2 cup of oil and add a couple tsp. of root beer extract and use powdered sugar, milk, and extract for glaze with vanilla optional. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made these cookies to take to my weekly bowling league and didn't want to frost them as that makes them more difficult to pack to travel, so I added another 1 1/2 teaspoons root beer extract to the batter (that would have gone into the glaze) and added a package of white chocolate chips. YUM!! They tasted like a root beer float! Everyone went crazy over them!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made these cookies for Easter for my Sunday school class. The kids hated them. Only 2 out of 13 kids ate their cookie. Most said it tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Theses Cookies Are .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Let me start off by saying I have a major sweet tooth. I made these cookies exactly as the recipe said, and they tasted so.. blah. Almost like a really subtle root beer flavored biscuit. So I added extra root beer extract and they were still just okay. I was hoping these would have been sweeter or just more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Just ok - the flavor was good, definitely identifiable as root beer, and the fact this is a butter based cookie is noticeable as well. Other than that, however, I can't rave about these. The batter doesn't need the buttermilk at all, so I left it out. I chilled the dough for well over an hour yet the cookies flattened more than I would have liked. The amount of "glaze" seemed like a lot, and also seemed as though it would be too heavy, too much like a frosting, for this soft, flat, cookie. So I just mixed up a glaze with the ingredients without measuring until I came up with something of drizzling consistency. I'm glad I thought ahead and bought some candy root beer barrels which I crushed and sprinkled over the glazed cookies. These definitely needed the "prettying up." This was a uniquely flavored cookie but I didn't care for the texture. My thinking is that there is too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were very unique. I love the cakey consistency of these and the frosting is very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These were a hit. I doubled the cookie recipe and kept the frosting as a single, and there was still lots left over. Friends had fun guessing the root beer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
These were very tasty! Somehow they reminded me of a gingersnap, but without the "snap" - I think it's the texture, which was fairly dense, and all of the brown sugar. Definitely root-beer-y and a lot of fun. The one quibble I have was with the "glaze." It tasted fine, but there's no way that anything with that much butter in it is going to act like a "glaze." Basically, it's root-beer-flavored powdered-sugar icing, and it acts like it. It doesn't soak into the cookies; it just sits on top. Tasty, but not quite what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States