Root Beer Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Nice and easy cookies. Great root beer flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDiMaria
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
My husband requested these when he came across them on Pinterest. We both really enjoyed them and I'm not a huge Root Beer fan. The only problem I had is that the recipe is definitely more of a guideline. Use your judgement if you're an experienced baker. The batter is too runny for cookies so I used more flour than called for and they had to be baked in my oven for double the amount of time called for. I read the reviews before trying and I definitely like the icing idea better than a glaze so I let the cookies cool and then frosted them. I saved the extra icing and froze it since my cookies were small and didn't need a lot. The flavor isn't incredibly intense and I would definitely recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
these were amazing. Everyone who tried them liked them. I added a sprinkle of baking powder because of all the reviews that said they went flat. Used root beer concentrate in the same amount listed for extract except I added a little more because some reviewers said that they didn't taste like rootbeer. I skipped the glaze because I was afraid of the butter flavor. I used a homemade cream cheese frosting recipe from the website and added root beer concentrate. They stayed soft and moist for days. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chloeliz
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These cookies are exceptional! They have a fluffy, cake-like texture and a delicious smooth frosting. I made mine with Columbia Soda Works Sarsaparilla extract instead of root beer, and they were especially flavorful. I also used soy heavy cream instead of buttermilk. I had to bake them a little longer (9-10 min.), but they turned out great. This is an easy, unique, and incredibly tasty cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloeliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I love these cookies! My kids, notsomuch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I loved these. I used sour milk (1tsp. vinegar to 1/4 cup milk--let sit for five minutes) instead of buttermilk. Cream together the butter and sugar. I also used Zatarain's root beer concentrate (usually used to make home made root beer soda) for the flavoring. The Zatarain's will give you a little more color in the cookie and glaze. (In fact, the photo used here is way off, the glaze should be a light tan, at its darkest.) Have since used both the concentrate and regular root beer extract, and I can say honestly that both of them work fine. My cookies were not flat at all, they came out with a nice puff to them. The frosting is delicious and it is definitely a frosting, not a glaze. Also, wait until the cookies have cooled a bit BEFORE you frost them....they should be warm to the touch, NOT hot out of the oven. Let them cool at least 5 minutes on a cooling rack. They should be the temperature that you would want to eat a cookie "warm from the oven". My daughter took a bunch of them to school and the kids loved them. Tasty and different cookie--will be making many more times. **Watkins makes root beer extract as does McCormick. Can also be found on amazon.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Pretty much made this cookie exactly as written. didn't have buttermilk so I used sour cream and it worked wonderfully. For those people who said their dough wouldn't set up perhaps the buttermilk is a bit too runny. I did cook them for 11 minutes as 8 was not long enough. Made the icing as stated and dipped my hot cookies into it. Also I read some people used rootbeer syrup as they couldn't find the extract. If you don't have the extract don't make the cookie as it is the key ingredient. I purchased mine through Watkins so if you know of any one that sells Watkins they will be able to get it for you. Excellent cookie overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Keim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I'm not an excellent cook so I heavily relied on the advice and reviews of others. We used Root beer Concentrate and although it had the appearance of tar, it turned out well. We calculated the recipe for 38 cookie and got 48 and did have to cook them longer than anticipated. For the frosting, we added 1/2 cup powdered sugar and Vanilla Flavoring. Thanks for the advise and help, I feel like i had a coach. It was fun, as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These cookies are great!! I found if you make the glaze on the stove low heat it turns out allot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
The cookies tasted great, but I too had a problem with them coming out flat and soggy. We cooked them longer and still had them come out like they were under baked. We did put parchment paper on the cookie sheets, so maybe thats why they didn't turn out? Also we couldn't find root beer extract so we used root beer consintrate. Will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States