Root Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this cake quite some time ago and forgot to review it. I followed the recipe exactly and I really loved this cake. DH didn't like it as much as I did, he didn't feel that cake should taste like root beer, but what does he know. This is a great dessert to take to a potluck. Thanks for the recipe, Trish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by sunflowerlady1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a super cake both in taste and presentation. I added an additional half recipe to the cake and baked in three round 6" cake pans. My own home made vanilla icing (1 cup butter, 1 cup shortening, 3 egg whites, 1 1/2 tsp. of clear vanilla and 3 cups powdered sugar) went between the layers and on the top for the froth. I used Pillsbury breadstick, twisted, shaped and baked for handle and inserted with toothpicks. My new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerlady1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
My kids love this. My friends love this. I have made it 3 times this month! I made it as cupcakes twice and they freeze beautifully with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinaNewton
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Fantastic. I made this with 6" round cake pans, and put ice cream in the middle for a root beer float cake. Made 1 batch icing as suggested to ice the sides of the cake, and another batch substituting vanilla for root beer concentrate, used as the froth for the root beer on the cake. Added a fondant handle (wrapped around an 8" lollipop stick for support) to make a root beer mug shaped cake. Really cute, and hubby loved the fuss for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Sorry - but I really want to make this cake but I looked everywhere in my small-town grocery store and they don't sell root beer extract, what would be an equal substitute in root beer without changing the consistency of the cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
such a good cake and I paired it with a rootbeer frosting it was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
my hubby really liked these. I made them into cupcakes, it makes 18 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was better and moister than one I made from Food Network. I actually baked them in 12oz glass rootbeer mugs and made a simple frosting from Dream Whip and 1/2 c. rootbeer. For decoration, I stuck a straw in. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
this was good, I couldn't find the root beer extract, so i just put in more root beer. I used canned vanilla icing w/root beer mixed in, which turned out very good as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
A very moist cake- followed the recipe this time. It probably needed more rootbeer extract next time to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States