Root Beer Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
pretty good but was missing something to give it more root beer flavor without getting bitter. If you're wanting a very subtle root beer flavor, this recipe is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
turned out ok. hubby liked it, but i didn't like the strange metallic taste i think i got from the extract. could just be my palette idk. good luck with this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
my hubby really liked these. I made them into cupcakes, it makes 18 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made cupcakes with this recipe using Milwaukee's own Sprecher root beer and was thrilled with them right up until I took the first bite. In my judgement they are in flavor and crumb more like a basic muffin (the non-cake type). Not moist enough for my liking, nor are they sweet enough. Their saving grace is the frosting, which is to-die-for good, but even then I tinkered with the recipe because it wouldn't have worked for me as written. Since I piped the frosting and needed it to be stiffer, I used a little more powdered sugar than called for and considerably less root beer. At least this awesome frosting picked up the slack for the lifeless cupcakes. They were pretty, no doubt about it, with their swirls of delicately caramel-colored frosting and bits of crushed root beer barrels I sprinkled them with as garnish, but being pretty isn't enough. I am still looking to make a great root beer cake so if I was to use this recipe again I'd probably add another egg, maybe even two, and another 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
such a good cake and I paired it with a rootbeer frosting it was so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Sorry - but I really want to make this cake but I looked everywhere in my small-town grocery store and they don't sell root beer extract, what would be an equal substitute in root beer without changing the consistency of the cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
A very moist cake- followed the recipe this time. It probably needed more rootbeer extract next time to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
this was good, I couldn't find the root beer extract, so i just put in more root beer. I used canned vanilla icing w/root beer mixed in, which turned out very good as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunflowerlady1
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a super cake both in taste and presentation. I added an additional half recipe to the cake and baked in three round 6" cake pans. My own home made vanilla icing (1 cup butter, 1 cup shortening, 3 egg whites, 1 1/2 tsp. of clear vanilla and 3 cups powdered sugar) went between the layers and on the top for the froth. I used Pillsbury breadstick, twisted, shaped and baked for handle and inserted with toothpicks. My new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerlady1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this cake quite some time ago and forgot to review it. I followed the recipe exactly and I really loved this cake. DH didn't like it as much as I did, he didn't feel that cake should taste like root beer, but what does he know. This is a great dessert to take to a potluck. Thanks for the recipe, Trish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make a Space Shuttle Cake

See how to make a birthday cake that looks like the space shuttle!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States