Roomali Roti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
My whole family loves this bread! Good made with all white or half white/half wheat flour. I cook it on a very hot non-stick griddle. Make sure you roll out the dough as thin as possible! Great with spicy Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This is my # 1 favorite recipe from this site! I have made this many, many times for my 3 year old. He says, "Make some rollie, please, Momma." Thanks for posting this great, easy, and wonderful tasting recipe! (Reminds me of a tortilla, we eat it with butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I've been making this for a while now, and I love it. It comes together easily, and goes well with lots of different dishes. I have never used the upside-down pan method to cook tho... Just a cast-iron skillet on the burner. I will say that I forgot about these once and they rested for way more than an hour and they were silky when I rolled them out. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Great! Comparable to the roti in indian restaurants! I used white flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURSEONALITY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The dough came together beautifully in the mixer...only rested a few minutes. cooked up like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Really good and easy! It's even better with melted butter brushed on right after you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
There is nothing better than simplicity. I think this recipe is the real traditional one to cook Naan...Thank god i found you. Happy and Healthy New Year. Oumy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Fantastic! Great bread recipe- I cooked it on a crepe skillet on high heat, and noticed that if you flip it one extra time, the bread puffs up and fills with hot air- it's great! It turned out like pita bread. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I agree with some of the other comments -- a 3rd flip is a big help, part whole wheat is good, and it does make a delicious, chewy roti to serve with Indian (or other) foods. I appreciated this recipe because it was much faster than the other roti recipes I was looking at, which all used yeast and were much more involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Great roti!!! I served it with tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, red onion, hot peppers, falafel, olive oil and lemon. This is a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRPINT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States