Roomali Roti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I was initially a little suspect that these weren't going to work so well, but they came out beautifully. Puffing up very nicely. We followed Bijay's suggestions about cooking one side for 5 sec and then flipping. Would not hesitate in making these again. I scaled the recipe down to 4 rotis and it was fine. Brushed on some melted butter & garlic at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Totally did not turn out like what I expected. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
To Yummum, If you want to make the roti soft and pliable.... instead of adding oil to the flour, add two tablespoons of butter. While cooking the roti, brush a little oil on both sides. After removing the roti, immediately place it in a covered dish lined with paper towels. Your roti should come out soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamarind Spice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Really good and easy! It's even better with melted butter brushed on right after you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
The simplicity of this bread and the lack of need for rise time makes this one a my favorite quick breads when I am cooking Indian foods (or making wraps for dinner). My husband frequently requests I make roti bread after trying this recipe. I always add garlic powder and use kosher salt for added flavor. Make sure to roll it thin enough that it still puffs up but remains pliable after being cooked. If it seems too hard after cooking try putting it in a paper bag and some of the trapped steam may help soften it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
To make the rotis soft try cooking them turning the following way. The first flip right after you place them on the pan aprox 5-6 secs. Now cook this side for about 1 minute or until soft brown spots on the bottom. Now last flip for the roti to rise up a bit and its ready. I love them every time i have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
more like naan than the roti that i remember. i thought it was flaky and buttery, but this is a fantastic naan recipe thats easy to make and could be a staple in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anelastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I cooked it in a regular pan and flipped it when it started to puff up and it turned out wonderful and soft. Would love to find the right spices to add to it to flavor it up a little. Will also try the half white half wheat suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
not like the rotli i get from my gujarati best friend. this recipe came out way too dry and hard, and i made it various times with different mixes of flours and various amounts of liquid. won't repeat for indian foods, but it's not bad for a tortilla recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
We really enjoyed these. Found it a bit difficult to roll thinly, and I was surprised by how crispy they were. The roti at our favourite restaurant is soft and pliable. Does anyone have a suggestion on how I might make these so they come out soft?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States