Roomali Roti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is so simple and so delicious. I cooked them inside my pan because I have my doubts about the bottom and I ruined the first one, but after that it was fine. I used 1/2 WW and 1/2 AP flour and the flavor was lovely. We will be having them again. Thanks for sharing, Moomal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Delicious! This was waaay easier than I thought it would be. I didn't cook it on the bottom of the skillet because it was rusty, so I just cooked them inside it like normal and it worked fine. I didn't have to "spread" the roti on the pan either, just tossed it on like a tortilla. I flipped mine 3 times to get them all nice and puffy. I loved the flavor and the texture. I served them with Basmati Rice and Aloo Phujia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Even for my first attempt my hubby said a 4 out of 5 at least. Very easy and with a bit more practice I am sure this will be on the dinner table a lot more. No complaints at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maralin
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I didn't need to double-flip these like others did...just let it rise and brown on the first side (about 2 min) then flip and brown the other side (about 1 min).I added 1 tsp garlic powder for flavor, which it needed. Rolling these was easy enough without too much effort, but it was hard to get them as thin as they should have been. I served it with curried goat, and made the roti skins while the goat was simmering. I do prefer the version with split peas ground in, but I imagine that would be much more time-consuming... Overall, this is a great, fast recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I've been making this for a while now, and I love it. It comes together easily, and goes well with lots of different dishes. I have never used the upside-down pan method to cook tho... Just a cast-iron skillet on the burner. I will say that I forgot about these once and they rested for way more than an hour and they were silky when I rolled them out. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The dough came together beautifully in the mixer...only rested a few minutes. cooked up like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
really good. but why does it take so long??? 1 hour and 20 minutes is a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jared

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I come from Singapore and these look exactly like the Roti Prata we get frozen in bulk at the supermarket! These are however a lot less flavorful than the kind I eat back home because of (what I think is) indian ghee. I read that the wheat absorbs water to different extents depending on the weather. My dough was very dry so I added more water. If the dough has difficulty pulling together its too dry. I think the dough should feel slightly wet, but its not tacky and I certainly did not need to add additional flour either when kneading or rolling out. They peel easily off the counter. They are pretty resistent to being rolled out so do be patient. The 3 flip tip was great and they puffed up! Used melted butter instead of veg oil and worked out great. For soft rotis, fry till the outside is flaky but not crisp while the roti is still bendable. Used them as sandwich wraps for a party and everyone loved them. Thanks for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These were a hit! The suggestions to cook for 5-6 seconds, flip, cook again for approx. 1 min, flip, then cook until the desired browness & to press down on the edges with a spatula after the 1st flip were wonderful. When I pressed the edges, the roti definitely had more air pockets. I used a cast iron skillet & very high heat. At first I tried med-high heat & the result was not at all what I wanted, but when I used a very, very hot skillet they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made these to provide a vegan alternative to the naan at a get together. Used half white, half whole wheat flour. Cooked it in a regular pan with three flips, the third flip is important if you want the bread to puff up nicely. Use a spatula and gently press around the edges of the roti to help it puff and fuse all the little air bubbles into one big pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States