Roomali Roti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is a good base recipe. Although I will add the oil last next time - it made dough very clumpy. My grandmother was from Guyana so we loved our curry and roti. Before letting the dough rest, we usually roll out the dough and brush with oil. Then roll it up (oil side in) like a jelly roll, portion dough into individul size & refrigerate for 45 minutes. Once we've rolled out the dough before putting it in pan we again brush both sides with oil. When it is cooked we take the roti between our hand and literally clap it (to let the air out) - do this quickly as roti will be hot. Thanks for an old favourite. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
omg this was so easy and fool proof.. i'm in love.. only thing i did differently was to use a regular frying pan and all purpose flour .. my only complaint is that i didn't make more.. ty so much for a wonderful recipe.. like another reviewer.. i'd love to see ideas for other ingredients to add (with amounts) to this.. also, i used Bijay's technique to cook the rotis to make sure they come out soft.. cant wait to make more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelinamarie3
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Nearly perfect recipe! I do agree with other reviews, that WARM water should be used- easier to work with & a much better end result. Had no bread flour on hand, so I dissolved some yeast in the warm water & added that for a quick version with ingredients I had. I'm not sure why (and disagree) of some reviews saying this has no 'flavor' & were adding in additional spices... true roti does not contain an abundance of flavor or additional spices. It is meant to be eaten with other dishes containing the heavier spices & flavor. Every true middle-eastern cuisine roti I have ever tried does not contain spices, only the small amount of salt. I also divided the dough into 12 smaller balls to flatten and cook, just as a personal preference since it was being used for various dips as an appetizer. Guaged the cook time on when brownish spots began to form & the roti would start to 'bubble' up in a few areas. Great, fresh out of the pan & also great leftover- this can accompany such a variety of various appetizers, dips, or main dishes. It is best left as-is, no spices added & leaving all the flavor to whatever dish goes along with it. Much appreciation for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Easy to make and we really liked it. Will make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Super easy, and turned out lovely. I used olive oil and a drop of sesame oil in the dough. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I really like this recipe! I've made it twice and am going to make it again tonight. It is great with hummus or used as a small tortilla would be. I like that this bread is economical and can be made fresh very easily. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will make it very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryandkevinaz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I love this stuff! It tastes better when you use melted butter in lieu of the oil. Also use copious amounts of butter to fry it. You only live once right?? Yum. I blogged about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Wonderful! Fry in ghee and serve with curry. Make your own ghee by simmering organic unsalted butter until it quiets (no water boiling out) and milk solids fry golden brown. Strain through a cheesecloth and store in a plastic container in the fridge for up to a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I added boiling hot water. This made the roti softer & more moist. They are now a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
this was okay, I can't tell if it was my technique or the recipe that failed me though! I am of indian decent and I was hoping for soft roti like my grandmother used to make but I found these dry and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States