Ron's Bread Machine White Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Outstanding! Increased sugar to 1/3 cup and that was perfect. I didn't have powdered milk so I cut water to slightly over 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup milk. Chose light crust setting. Came out perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ireneb
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I am a first time bread maker user and I made three other loafs from different recipes, I have two door stops and a rock, So when i found this one I just had to try it, I made it to the recipe it looks and smells good just have to wait for it to cool now to taste ,,,Well tasted it and wow its great will make this again ,,, Still making this bread to recipe trying now with 2 cup of white flour and 1 cup of whole wheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This is the best bread machine recipe ever!! It actually tastes like my Grandma's homemade bread. I was so impressed. In general, white bread recipes turn out ok, but this recipe turned out great! It think it's the egg that makes it taste that much better. This bread doesn't stay around too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
We attacked the defenseless loaf hot from the machine. Armed with serrated knife, cutting board, butter and homemade jam, we fell upon the loaf and eradicated half its ranks. Excellent delicate crumb, fabulous flavor; makes delicious toast the next day...if any survives that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. Too many people rate a recipe after making sevearal changes. In my opinion you can't rate a recipe when you entirely revamped the given recipe. Great texture & appearance. Tastes pretty good. I feel like something is missing. Perhaps a little more sugar &/or butter instead of oil? I will definitely use this recipe as a base for future experimentation to come up with breads that I like even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I am not a huge fan of bread machines, but we were out of bread one night and I thought to haul mine out to make a loaf. I used this recipe and it turned out so good that it was gone very quickly. So I sent my husband to the store for more yeast, and began to make a second loaf. This time, I put the whole package of yeast in the machine (because more is always better, right?). I set the timer for overnight, because it was late and the next morning I had a Lucy Ricardo moment when I walked into the kitchen---the bread had exploded through the top of the machine! Not being one to waste anything, I salvaged most of the bread by breaking it into pieces, drying it out, and making a bread pudding. For my third try, after spending close to an hour cleaning up the bread machine, I measured everything precisley. Unfortunately, the bread machine had not survived the previous ordeal, and refused to turn on. So I dumped it all into my Kitchen Aid and used the dough hook. I let the dough rise in an oiled bowl for about an hour, punched it down and then put it in a loaf pan. This time the bread was perfect! It looked like real bread--no holes on the bottom from the bread machine. I have made this several times since. The only change I make is to use 2T sugar, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour. It couldn't be any easier. P.S. I threw out my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Only having made bread with bread flour, I was curious to see what this loaf would be like with its two cups of all purpose flour. Using vegetable oil was a first for me too. I was very pleased! There is nothing not to like here; it's a moist, flavorful and tender sandwich loaf with just the right balance and measurements of salt, sugar and yeast. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This is the best white bread recipe I have found so far. It is very easy to prepare and has a nice texture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I made this last night and it did turn out good. Nice consistency. I won't lie though, it didn't drive me mad with desire. I'm not sure I would make it again. Decent recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
I make this bread 2-3 times a week! The texture is great. I use the light crust setting. Great for sandwiches. Sent a copy of this recipe along with a bread machine to my dad for Father's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States