Ron's Bread Machine White Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is going to be my go-to recipe from now on! I have had my bread machine for a couple of years now and had pretty much given up on making a bread that wasn't a hockey puck or a door stop. I tried this recipe today and out came the most amazing bread! A success, finally! It is delicious and just the right texture, not too light for a white bread. I think it might be the added egg that makes the difference. I'm so glad that I finally have a bread I can trust that I am not embarrassed to serve. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Makes a very nice light but rich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Turned out just like the photo, and sooo moist!! Will make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
EXCELLENT! This is one of the best white bread loaf I have ever made...and I have made lots of them... The reason, I think, is the egg. I added 2 Tablespoons of sugar instead of one..because of a review I read. All other measurements I followed exactly as listed. (Be sure to take your yeast out of the fridge measure it into a little dish and let it warm up for 15 or 20 min. before you use it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlegramma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Absolutely amazing bread! I am enjoying a nice warm slice right now! This recipe will be used over and over! I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Wagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We had this with our dinner this evening and it had a wonderful flavor and moist texture. I have tried other recipes that generally have turned out too dry or hard. This was soft and moist. After reading other reviews, I chose to add an additional Tbsp of sugar and it turned out great, not too sweet. It is a great recipe for toast, sandwich bread or bread to serve with a meal. I will definitely make this recipe again!!:) I wish I could post a picture put it is not allowing uploads at this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Have been making this for several years- I do add a bit more salt. It is great served while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This resembles the recipe that came with my bread machine. I doubled it and mixed in my stand mixer though. I think this was the best bread I've made! When I make this in my bread machine I don't recall it coming out this good. I think it's because my machine makes an abnormally shaped loaf that can't be cut the right way. If it's possible that the direction of the cut affects the taste/texture then that's it! I'll be making this for awhile! We used 1 loaf for dinner (grilled cheese with bacon and home-cured pork loin aka Canadian bacon) and the other loaf will be croutons for my daily lunch salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylene
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I've made this recipe a couple times now and it works great for me. I have a Breadman Pro breadmaker and I cook is as a 4 pound loaf, even though it's not that big. The only change I made to the recipe was that instead of using bread flour (I never have any on hand) I added 3 tablespoons of Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten (1 Tbls per 1 c. flour). This addition makes all-purpose flour behave like bread flour -- more fluffy and more elastic. I do have to keep an eye on this at the beginning to make sure that all the flour gets incorporated -- there is usually flour at the edge of the pan that isn't getting pulled into the dough ball. But scrape the edges with a soft spatula to get it pulled and we're good to go. This loaf turns out with a nice crunchy crust. I let it cook to medium darkness and then I rub it with butter and wrap in in a towel right after taking it out of the pan to let it steam a couple minutes before cutting it. Inside that crispy crust is a soft, fluffy inside. It has a great texture that is easy to cut and isn't spongy with too many large holes through it. I'm a fan. This is the only recipe I'll use for a basic white loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this today and it turned out good. I toasted a piece and enjoyed it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker

Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States