Ron's Bread Machine White Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. Too many people rate a recipe after making sevearal changes. In my opinion you can't rate a recipe when you entirely revamped the given recipe. Great texture & appearance. Tastes pretty good. I feel like something is missing. Perhaps a little more sugar &/or butter instead of oil? I will definitely use this recipe as a base for future experimentation to come up with breads that I like even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
loved it... the crust was a bit to crusty, though, so perhaps the light setting on the bread machine would be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I used all bread flour for this recipe and had to add about an extra cup to make the proper consistency. It rose a little too high for my machine so next time I will bake in the oven. But, WOW! Everything looked, tasted and smelled divine! Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarron Fabbricino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Perfect! I used whole wheat bread flour and it turned out great. Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Just like mom makes it! Smells great, good shelf life. Excellent with a light crust and great for dipping in soup, stew, whatever! Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I've been searching for the perfect bread machine recipe on this site, and I think this is it. I really like the look and texture of this bread, and it seems chewier rather than crumbly, probably because of the milk powder and egg. I used 1 c whole wheat flour and 2 cups all-purpose flour. Try this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I use this recipe every week to make our bread. I no longer buy store bought bread. We have a machine that makes it loaf size and this recipe is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
very nice bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Pretty good and standard recipe... it actually cooked evenly in my bread machine (something that has not happened with any other recipe). I added warm water for the yeast, but kept the milk cold so the egg didn't cook before the flour was added. Good sandwich bread! I used small loaf setting w/ light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Wiechert
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I am not a huge fan of bread machines, but we were out of bread one night and I thought to haul mine out to make a loaf. I used this recipe and it turned out so good that it was gone very quickly. So I sent my husband to the store for more yeast, and began to make a second loaf. This time, I put the whole package of yeast in the machine (because more is always better, right?). I set the timer for overnight, because it was late and the next morning I had a Lucy Ricardo moment when I walked into the kitchen---the bread had exploded through the top of the machine! Not being one to waste anything, I salvaged most of the bread by breaking it into pieces, drying it out, and making a bread pudding. For my third try, after spending close to an hour cleaning up the bread machine, I measured everything precisley. Unfortunately, the bread machine had not survived the previous ordeal, and refused to turn on. So I dumped it all into my Kitchen Aid and used the dough hook. I let the dough rise in an oiled bowl for about an hour, punched it down and then put it in a loaf pan. This time the bread was perfect! It looked like real bread--no holes on the bottom from the bread machine. I have made this several times since. The only change I make is to use 2T sugar, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour. It couldn't be any easier. P.S. I threw out my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States