Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is REALLY good and I haven't even put it in my enchiladas yet!!! I can't say I followed the recipe exactly because I never measure anything just kind of eyeball the amounts. I did double the chile peppers and I used the hot ortega's not the mild ones. for the chili powder I did not use the basic store bottled chili powder, I used a combo of Ancho, pasailla, and California chili powders to equal about the same amount. I tend to be heavy handed with spices so I have no idea how much I used. We do like thing spicy. I did use my crock pot to cook it, I rubbed it with the rub mix, wrapped it in foil tossed it in my crock pot on high for 4 1/2 hours. Perfect! Maybe the people that say it was bland probably cooked it in the crock pot adding liquid to dilute the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandi Courtesis
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was so good even my kids ate it! Double up on the spices or you won't taste anything. I wrapped my meat in foil and let it sit in the crockpot while I was at work. The whole house smelled amazing when I walked through the door! I served this with a side of spanish rice, iceburg with tomatoes, avocado, and cilantro. Don't forget the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I panicked a little bit when I thought I lost this recipe! Luckily, I remembered it was "Ronaldo's" and found it with a search. Fantastic recipe... I use the leftovers for nachos and breakfast burritos. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. The only changes I made were using 7 oz of chopped green chilies (the whole can), and I used Adobo brand seasoning in place of salt and oregano. I cooked it 7 hours in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
great rub and favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Too much spice, too little spice (bland), just right. This is SO a matter of personal taste. I decided to disregard all the reviews and just follow the recipe with no modifications - and I was happy. Smells good, tastes good too. This had just the right amount of spice, brightening the flavor without masking the rich, beefy taste. A little cilantro and avocado was all this needed. (Red onion would have been nice too but I didn't want to taste it all night)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Awesome!!! This will be a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Katzer
Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I really like this recipe. I have made it twice and will make it again. I made it in a crock pot, added a can of beef broth and doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I used a venison roast, doubled the spices and added a couple tablespoons of curry paste for some kick. I rubbed it well, left it in the fridge overnight, wrapped it in foil and put it seam side down in a couple cups of beef broth on low for 10 hours. It was incredible, I'm hard to please, but it fell apart way better than anything I ever expected...even with venison. I used it for burritos, wow... thanks. I wasn't sure about the foil in the crock pot, but glad I did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Love love! Changes: I double the amount of seasonings & garlic. I also used half of a large onion which I chopped & put in the crockpot. The cut of meat I used was beef bottom round roast. After I rubbed the seasonings on the meat I put about 1/4 cup water in the crockpot and added the meat,cooked on low for about 7 1/2 hours. Served with rice,limes, & cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States