Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The way I did this was put a 1 lb beef chuck boneless arm steak in the crock pot (only feeding 2 people) and rub it down on each side with about 1 T chili powder, 1 t oregano, 1 T cumin, 6 cloves minced garlic, 1 t salt and 1 t onion powder. I let cook on low for 4.5 hours turning once every hour. Then I shredded the beef and put about 1/4 cup beef broth in. Cooked on low for another 2 hours (the beef soaked up all the broth). It was soooo good. But next time I will make a bigger hunk of meat wrapped up in foil for the first increment of cooking in the slow cooker (so as not to burn) and calculate the increase in spices according to how many lbs of meat there is. I served with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole w/ shredded monterrey jack cheese. uh....YUM! sidenote: I didn't use the green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We live in the Yucatan peninsula in Mexico and make carnitas all the time!! We moved here from Canada 2 years ago after we fell in love with the local food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In The Yucatan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Awesome and easy recipe! I doubled the spices and it turned out perfect. Served with guac and pico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nemunoz
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I used mild green chile peppers (which I was concerned that it would be spicy and it turned out perfect, not the least bit spicy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nemunoz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was quite good. I used a 2.5 lb. roast and doubled the rest of the ingredients and cooked in the slow cooker for 8 hrs. Made "burrito bols" using rice, black beans, cheese, garden fresh salsa and lettuce. Very nice meal. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
based on the reviews, I over seasoned this and am, frankly, a little tired of Mexican at the moment. That said, I wrapped this in foil, put it in my cast iron dutch oven and cooked it as directed. This is THE way to braise tougher, less expensive cuts of meat. I, unfortunately, hate crockpot meat. It always seems to come out drained of flavor and mushy rather than tender. I have cooked at least a hundred pot roasts in my dutch oven but wrapping it in foil seems to be the trick to turning out a juicy, extremely tender piece of meat. You could do your onion and mushroom soup pot roast this way and I am sure it would come out great. I can't wait to try a variety of seasonings, etc cooked in this manner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The whole family loved this recipe! I can't wait to try it in the crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this it was the BEST!!!! I made exactly like the recipe it was wonderful. Surprised my guest to no end... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I sub'd a can of jalapenos bc I didnt have any green chile peppers on hand. Also added a can of beef broth to the crock pot as suggested. I tasted the beef as I was shredding it and it was pretty bland so I double or tripled all the spices. Served with Avocado, cilantro, diced tomatoes and white cheese on a flour tortilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
It was a good flavor, turned out tough so maybe next time i'll try it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States