Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very good. Doubled the spices and added a jalapeno and one can of beef broth. Cooked in crock pot as reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
this is a solid recipe. I used a shoulder roast, I didn't have a can of chilies so I used a can of rotel. I also added some taco seasoning and 1 onion. Put everything in the crock pot on low for about 8 hrs. This is a solid recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This turned out really well! I used a 2.5 lb roast and kept all the seasoning measurements the same as written except increased the green chiles to a 7 oz. can. Cooked in the crockpot for about 7-8 hours on low and added about 1/4 cup water to keep it moist. It was pretty mild in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Tasty! But I followed the recommendations of many others and changed the following: used a 2 lb roast, doubled the oregano, garlic and cumin, plus added a teaspoon of smoked paprika; salted the roast and marinated in the rub overnight; just before cooking poked holes in the roast, added 1/4 cup beef broth and 7 oz salsa verde instead of chiles; after cooking, skimmed fat from juices and mixed in with the shredded meat. Otherwise cooked as directed and was very pleased with the results. 4 stars because the original seasoning seems way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was very yummy! I too cooked it in the crockpot and when I got home from work the whole house smelled delicious! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have made this several times, and it is excellent. Instead of cooking in the oven, I put the meat in the crockpot on low in the morning with all the other ingredients and by late afternoon my house smells delicious. Use it for tacos, enchiladas, or even sandwiches. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
use 2 cans chilies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fabulous! I followed the measurements but used 2 lbs of chuck roast instead of four. Made in a crock pot and added a bit of beef broth for the last hour or so. We were feeling indulgent so I stuffed the meat in a tortilla, added cheese and a bit of salsa and fried them in a bit of veg oil to make mock-chimichangas. My husband took a bite and said "that's it, we're opening a restaurant!" Thank you, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Tender and delicious shredded beef tacos. These were absolutely wonderful. Modified the recipe a little, mostly as recommended by other reviewers: Used tri-tip roast (2lb size was plenty for two people) but kept spices same volume as indicated in this recipe (since others recommended doubling spices for original recipe at 4lbs). Cooked in crock pot on high for 7 hours. Prepared by seasoning roast with spices as a rub, then placed in crock pot in a broth of: green chiles (used half hot and half mild), 2 diced garlic cloves, 4oz jalapeno tomato sauce, one can of beef broth, and 2 chopped jalapeno peppers. Did not wrap in foil but the meat eventually cooked tender in broth. Finally shredded the beef and placed in soft taco shells with guac, sour cream, and fine shredded cheese. SO TENDER and came out just slightly spicy...the best beef tacos we've ever made at home. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca in Oregon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Amazing! Moist, tender, and delicious without changing a thing. I will definitely make this again. Be sure to wrap the meat as tight as you can in the foil to keep the moisture in so it will just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States