Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This turned out really well! I used a 2.5 lb roast and kept all the seasoning measurements the same as written except increased the green chiles to a 7 oz. can. Cooked in the crockpot for about 7-8 hours on low and added about 1/4 cup water to keep it moist. It was pretty mild in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Tasty! But I followed the recommendations of many others and changed the following: used a 2 lb roast, doubled the oregano, garlic and cumin, plus added a teaspoon of smoked paprika; salted the roast and marinated in the rub overnight; just before cooking poked holes in the roast, added 1/4 cup beef broth and 7 oz salsa verde instead of chiles; after cooking, skimmed fat from juices and mixed in with the shredded meat. Otherwise cooked as directed and was very pleased with the results. 4 stars because the original seasoning seems way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was very yummy! I too cooked it in the crockpot and when I got home from work the whole house smelled delicious! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I have made this several times, and it is excellent. Instead of cooking in the oven, I put the meat in the crockpot on low in the morning with all the other ingredients and by late afternoon my house smells delicious. Use it for tacos, enchiladas, or even sandwiches. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
use 2 cans chilies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fabulous! I followed the measurements but used 2 lbs of chuck roast instead of four. Made in a crock pot and added a bit of beef broth for the last hour or so. We were feeling indulgent so I stuffed the meat in a tortilla, added cheese and a bit of salsa and fried them in a bit of veg oil to make mock-chimichangas. My husband took a bite and said "that's it, we're opening a restaurant!" Thank you, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Tender and delicious shredded beef tacos. These were absolutely wonderful. Modified the recipe a little, mostly as recommended by other reviewers: Used tri-tip roast (2lb size was plenty for two people) but kept spices same volume as indicated in this recipe (since others recommended doubling spices for original recipe at 4lbs). Cooked in crock pot on high for 7 hours. Prepared by seasoning roast with spices as a rub, then placed in crock pot in a broth of: green chiles (used half hot and half mild), 2 diced garlic cloves, 4oz jalapeno tomato sauce, one can of beef broth, and 2 chopped jalapeno peppers. Did not wrap in foil but the meat eventually cooked tender in broth. Finally shredded the beef and placed in soft taco shells with guac, sour cream, and fine shredded cheese. SO TENDER and came out just slightly spicy...the best beef tacos we've ever made at home. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca in Oregon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Amazing! Moist, tender, and delicious without changing a thing. I will definitely make this again. Be sure to wrap the meat as tight as you can in the foil to keep the moisture in so it will just fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The way I did this was put a 1 lb beef chuck boneless arm steak in the crock pot (only feeding 2 people) and rub it down on each side with about 1 T chili powder, 1 t oregano, 1 T cumin, 6 cloves minced garlic, 1 t salt and 1 t onion powder. I let cook on low for 4.5 hours turning once every hour. Then I shredded the beef and put about 1/4 cup beef broth in. Cooked on low for another 2 hours (the beef soaked up all the broth). It was soooo good. But next time I will make a bigger hunk of meat wrapped up in foil for the first increment of cooking in the slow cooker (so as not to burn) and calculate the increase in spices according to how many lbs of meat there is. I served with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole w/ shredded monterrey jack cheese. uh....YUM! sidenote: I didn't use the green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
We live in the Yucatan peninsula in Mexico and make carnitas all the time!! We moved here from Canada 2 years ago after we fell in love with the local food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In The Yucatan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States