Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe.. here are my adjustments.. I baked mine in the oven for 4 1/2 hours. I put 4 Tbsp. chili powder, 3 tsp. Cumin and 3 tsp. Oregano, but followed the rest to a T. I also chopped up an onion and put it in with the roast. Tips; make sure you are using a roast with some fat on it so it will stay moist, if not, be sure and add water. No peaking while it's cooking or you will loose moisture. After about 4-5 hours, remove it from the oven and shred it up, add a can of Rotel (I actually just drain a can into the meat and use the tomatoes for mexican-style skillet corn) put the foil back on and cook for another 20-30 minutes. And that's it! Fantastic, and if you make enough you can use it in other recipes throughout the week, this beef leaves a lot of room for creativity :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this but I used a boneless pork butt. I couldn't find a chuck roast at the store. It was sooooo good. We made burritos. My husband like it so much that he ate the rest of the food on my plate when I left the room. He then wanted to know if we could eat it for the rest of the week rather than freeze the rest. Yeah, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dexmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
not thta I expectd sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I did not follow the recipe when I made this (well, to an extent I did). I used pot roast (about 3lbs), one onion, 3 fresh jalapenos (chopped/seeded), lime juice, the seasonings called for and a few extra, fresh garlic, a little water. Put it in the crockpot at 9PM on a Friday nite, turned it off about 3PM Saturday afternoon. IT WAS AMAZiNG. I will be making this again this weekend, I cannot stop thinking about it this week hah. I just need a really hot and spicy salsa recipe now :-/ OMG cannot wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Yum. Used with sirloin steak and in the crock pot. I cooked too long :( I'm sure something less lean, like the chuck called for, would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was outstanding and just as good for lunch the next day. Followed the recommendations for adding a can of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very nice and so easy to make!! I put the meat and seasonings into a slow cooker (not wrapped in tinfoil) and let the slow cooker do all the work. I halved the recipe and we still had plenty of meat, enough for lunch and snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe is incredibly easy and delicious! It's sort of like mexican pot roast that just melts in your mouth. the only changes I made is that I used only 2.5 lbs of chuck roast and kept everything exactly as is. I put salt on each individual taco that sets off all the flavors. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beheeka
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Way too greasy. Should use a leaner cut of meat. Hard to judge the flavors past the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Fantastic!! I wrapped the ingredients in foil and placed in the crockpot on low until the meat pulled apart easily. Made hard shell tacos with it and they were the bomb!! I can't wait to make this again and try burritos or tamales. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States