Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wow! We absolutely love this recipe and usually eat it on a salad (like a taco salad, but so much better!). I make this at least once a month and love having leftovers. It is great for potluck meals, as well. Per other reviewers suggestions, I make it in the crock pot, double the seasonings and add a can of beef broth. I have made it with and without a cup of salsa and both are excellent. Thank you, Miss Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
So easy! I didn't have the time to bake, so I put the meat in a stockpot with the seasonings and water about 3/4 up the meat. Covered, boiled for about 15 minutes then simmered on medium/low for 1.5 hours or so. Spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I will save money on ethnic mexican steak tacos. I only feeding 2 people so I used a 2.25 size chuck roast and 2.5 large fresh jalapeños and put in my slow cooker on low for 6.5 hours perfect. So delicious. Served on flour tortillas with reduced fat cheddar cheese and low fat sour cream OMG! Will be making this over and over. Thank you for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent - Made it with no changes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
DELICIOUS!!!! I followed all directions exactly except I used a 2.5 lb roast (but still used the same amount of spices as the recipe calls for). I also used 1/4 tsp garlic powder instead of cloves. I put it in the oven for 4 hours wrapped in foil, then at the end I shredded the meat, skimmed any fat off the juice from meat and mixed shredded meat with juice from meat cooking. We ate it as soft tacos but would be delicious in burritos or even plain! This turned out amazing and my husband loved it also plus it was SO EASY! If I were to make a 5 lb roast I would double the spices. This recipe will be a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was AWESOME!!! We ate it so many different ways. First, we ate it in tortillas with some sauteed green peppers (I used some of the grease from the beef to cook the peppers in). Then we ate it with scrambled eggs in tortillas. And finally, I used what was left to put on some nachos with some more green peppers and cheese. I was sad when it was gone and I can't wait to make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Fantastic. I wrapped mine in foil, marinated in fridge over night and popped it in the slow cooker in the morning before going to work (still wrapped in foil). Shredded the meat and put back in the slow cooker with some of the juices. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe.. here are my adjustments.. I baked mine in the oven for 4 1/2 hours. I put 4 Tbsp. chili powder, 3 tsp. Cumin and 3 tsp. Oregano, but followed the rest to a T. I also chopped up an onion and put it in with the roast. Tips; make sure you are using a roast with some fat on it so it will stay moist, if not, be sure and add water. No peaking while it's cooking or you will loose moisture. After about 4-5 hours, remove it from the oven and shred it up, add a can of Rotel (I actually just drain a can into the meat and use the tomatoes for mexican-style skillet corn) put the foil back on and cook for another 20-30 minutes. And that's it! Fantastic, and if you make enough you can use it in other recipes throughout the week, this beef leaves a lot of room for creativity :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this but I used a boneless pork butt. I couldn't find a chuck roast at the store. It was sooooo good. We made burritos. My husband like it so much that he ate the rest of the food on my plate when I left the room. He then wanted to know if we could eat it for the rest of the week rather than freeze the rest. Yeah, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dexmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States