Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Simply amazing...I didnt have cumin or garlic on hand. I used garlic boullion and about a cup of water. Added some beef base and fajita seasoning and paprika, cumino, dehydrated onion..used the green chilies..Dumped all in crock pot with some frozen meat strips( I beleive posada beef strips)..Just did the cooks taste test..awesome...Thanks for sharing this recipe..it's a keeper!Serving with pinto beans, rice and condiments..Might go for broke and add some margaritas tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This recipe was great! I used a smaller roast (a little under 2lbs), but doubled the seasoning anyway and it came out delicious. Per another reviewer's suggestion, I wrapped the seasoned roast in foil, then cooked it in the crock pot on high for 5 hours. Then I removed the meat, transferred the juices back into the crock pot, put the meat back, and shredded it with two forks. I cooked it for an additional 30 mins on low. Perfect for tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I wasn't sure what kind of chillies you guys used and the only jar of chillies I could get here was a jar of birds eye chillies, but the jar said suitable for mexican dishes so I guessed it would be ok. They came whole and I chopped them up worrying that it would make the beef too spicy for my liking, but I wanted to stick to the recipe as much as possible for a fair review. Luckily I did because the meat came out tender and just the right kind of spicy for me! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I didn't have a chuck roast so used 2 2lb. Chuck steaks and placed them side by side in a large lasagna dish. Worked great! Within an hour the yummy smell filled the house and the kids were coming out of their rooms asking what was cooking. When it came out of the oven and I ripped open the foil the kids were all over me for bites. Meat fell apart beautifully - really easy to shred. I love Ortega chiles so I added 2 cans with 2tbs of new mex chile powder, 1tbs Oregano, 1tbs Cumin, 2tbs chopped garlic. If there is only one thing I might change is to add a tiny bit of salt and maybe add a little dry wine to boost the flavors .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy, Party of 5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I’ve tried a lot of carnita recipes and this one does produce a moist, tender meat that easily falls apart. But then again, I wouldn’t expect anything less from a chuck roast. For me, this tasted like a meat smothered in chili powder and lacked some key ingredients that would really make this traditional Mexican dish stand out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
EXCELLENT! Just finished making this. I used 4 oz. can of Ortega diced jalepenos in place of green chili peppers, baked for 4 hours for 4 lbs., and it came out excellent. I can see where you could double the other spices if you like a more intense flavor, but as is, it is authentic. Usually, a chili based salsa is offered to add more flavor/spice/heat at the table. I developed my own recipe after eating tacos in Mexico and here in mexican homes, using a different cooking technique. This beef is easier to cook, requires no attention once you put it into the oven, and is very flavorful. Highly recommend this recipe!! Serve with finely chopped onion, cilantro, avocado and sour cream. Some even add matchstick-sliced radishes to add. Offer soft hot corn tortillas and chili salsa to garnish as desired. Thank you Ronaldo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We cooked this down in the slow cooker with a can of tomatoes with green chilis. I drained the liquid towards the end into a pan, skimmed some of the fat and added flour to thicken the sauce. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Kept spices as directed for a 2.5 lb roast. Very easy in the crock pot (no foil) for 6 hrs low, 1 hr high. Next time I will try to cook it for a little longer. Flavor was very good. Substituted one can Rotel for can of plain green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was delicious! I shredded the beef in all of the juices and it was incredible. Will definitely be making it again - it was SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I used a bottom round roast and doubled everything else. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States