Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Really good recipe. I made this for a friend who just had a baby. I didn't exactly measure everything so next time I will...mine was not as flavorful as I thought it would be but I'm pretty sure I skimped on the chili powder and the cumin. After I shredded the meat, I put it back in the oven in the juice to stay warm while I made the rice and beans. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good! This is a nice change of pace from the pork carnitas I usually make. I served it with flour tortillas and taco fixin's, and everyone loved it. I can't give it five stars "as is" because I definitely think the seasoning needs to be increased. Also, this cut of meat is super-duper fatty, and I had to pick out lots of gelatinous gooey fat pieces from the finished product before I could serve it. Other than that... extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Delicious!!! The meat shredded so easily and was tender and juicy. We ate it on tortillas with cheese and sour cream. Next time I will double the amount of chiles for more spice and maybe saute up some peppers and onions to serve with it. My husband made sure there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This should be a 4.5 star. Everyone loved it even my husband who doesn't care for spicy recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Sell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I added half a can of tomato broth soup, a sprinkle of cinnamon, doubled the cumin, and a sprinkle of paprika. I cooked it in the pressure cooker for one hour. It falls apart because it is so moist. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I have made this recipe several times,both in the oven and in the crockpot(no foil) 8 hours on low.the meat is always tender and shreds easily with two forks.I serve it with beans and rice and flour tortillas.buffet style with lettuce ,diced tomatoes,salsa,shredded cheese,sour cream and guacomole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
The flavor was fine, but I don't know what I did wrong--mine came out gritty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was good. I accidently bought a less fatty roast and it was a bit dry. So I took it out of the crock, cut it up and simmered it in chicken stock and this helped it to get to the "pulling apart so easily" stage. So if you buy a "better" less fatty cut of meat, pour some chicken stock in there to help with the moisture! Other than that very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I tried this recipe because I love carnitas. It didn't work for my taste buds. I made it for a crowd and everyone else liked it though. My husband and I thought that the meat tasted like fajita meat without the onions and peppers. Not at all like a juicy chunk of pork carnita meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
AMAZING! Double or triple the seasoning. I did this in the crock pot for 5 hours, shredded it, doused it with more cumin and left it in the pot for a while. I burnt it a little, but it was still fine! I WILL make this a family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States