Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Smelled great while cooking, but the meat was very difficult to shred and had no flavor. None. We followed the recipe exactly. What to do with the leftovers? I'll probably mix the meat with BBQ sauce for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I wanted tacos, but didn't feel like the ground beef, so decided to try using another cut of beef. I tried this recipe and it tasted great. I did make some modifications. I added 3 cloves of garlic, sauted white onions, a pack of taco seasoning, a 1/2 pack of chili seasoning instead of chili powder, cayenne pepper, a couple of diced adobe peppers instead of green chili peppers. I omitted the oregano since I didn't have any, but added cilantro instead. I topped the tacos with sour cream, refried beans, green onions, shredded cheese, and salsa verde. These were awesome and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Wonderful recipe.I made mine in a crockpot and cooked on low overnight and it shredded easily in the morning.Also I use the liquid when making my Spanih rice.Delicious.Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
SO tasty! I use a slow-cooker on low for about 8 hours, mm-mmm good :) UPDATE: this recipe works great with just about any meat. Beef, Pork, Chicken. Heat tortillas in a pan, and serve with fresh guacamole & salsa. ole'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was pretty good. I had higher expectations for the flavor of the meat. The meat was extremely tender and I loved the cooking method (I used the crock pot). Very simple, but something was lacking in the flavor. Not sure what...maybe more cumin? I would probably make this again, but intensify the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
i cooked in the crockpot in foil, on low for 9 hrs. turned out good no added liquid was needed. and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Made this with only a few changes used a 2 pound flat chuck roast but same amount of spices and cooked in my slow cooker for 8 hours on low. Awesome the spices were just right and my husband raved about it. The meat would make wonderful beef enchiladas that is my plan for the next time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Really good recipe. I made this for a friend who just had a baby. I didn't exactly measure everything so next time I will...mine was not as flavorful as I thought it would be but I'm pretty sure I skimped on the chili powder and the cumin. After I shredded the meat, I put it back in the oven in the juice to stay warm while I made the rice and beans. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good! This is a nice change of pace from the pork carnitas I usually make. I served it with flour tortillas and taco fixin's, and everyone loved it. I can't give it five stars "as is" because I definitely think the seasoning needs to be increased. Also, this cut of meat is super-duper fatty, and I had to pick out lots of gelatinous gooey fat pieces from the finished product before I could serve it. Other than that... extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States