Romesco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Thanks all for trying out the Romesco Sauce. Just a note that I should have had in the recipe. The garlic can be peeled or unpeeled at roasting time. I peel mine. The biggest complaint from reviewers has been that it's too vinegary. Please use less vinegar to start with, since some vinegars are stronger than others, and then if you are a vinegar freak like me, add more :] Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I kept thinking "What? No onions? No basil or oregano?" but after one taste I realized this sauce doesn't need a single thing added to it! Simply PERFECT! My only changes were to reduce the vinegar - I probably used 3 1/2 tbsp. or so, just added a little at a time and kept tasting, then at the end I probably ended up drizzling in 1/4 cup of olive oil. Had a little with some toasted baguette and crackers, and then on top of pasta for dinner. Just delicious! I think next time I'll try pulsing the almonds first, though, as my food processor is old and tired and I ended up finding a couple large chunks. I really didn't want to blend the sauce any further as it was just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
So Spanish & so delicious! All 3 world travelers who tasted this LOVED it. We each want to make this again & again! I made it & personally LOVED it exactly as written though the vinegar is noticeable, so you may want to start with a little less vinegar, taste, & then decide if more's wanted. Although I served this as an appetizer on baguette slices, it is also a great dip for savory empanadas (such as cheese, shrimp, or potatoes & chorizo), for dipping celery & carrots, or as a sauce for pasta, chicken, shrimp...you'll find many ways to use this full-flavored, adaptable sauce! Bravo, AngieItaliano! (Maybe your "nom de plume" should be AngieEspanola!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
THIS SAUCE IS AMAZING! Used it for pizza sauce with the Honey Wheat Pizza Dough from this site, topped with goat cheese and lots of fresh basil. I'm so happy this was the sauce I picked! I changed this a little based on my personal preferences and what I had on hand, but it would be great just as written. I used 1 1/2 bell peppers, added a few more tomatoes, included 2 shallots, sub'd basil oil for the olive oil, and sub'd spicy balsamic vinegar and a little rice wine vinegar (didn't have red wine vinegar). I didn't add the bread or almonds - might add toasted pine nuts next time. Lots left over, which I froze for my next pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is freakin' insane. A flavor explosion. I made exactly according to recipe, only adding the red wine vinegar by tbsp. until it felt right. I just dipped a spoon into it to taste it before dinner. A couple times. And I'm about to go again. I'm planning on serving this on whole wheat pasta for my family with fresh parm but for me, I'm having it over roasted vegetables. Awesome recipe, Miss Angie. This one's a keeper. For sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Oh Baby Come To Mamma. I've been munching on this with toasted baguette slices and veggie dippers. I just wanted to try it as a snack before I started dinner. Now I have to push back dinner because I keep eating this! So you say this gets better after sitting? I'm in trouble, I'm cooking only for myself and thought I'd have a bunch for the freezer. Kept to the recipe, except for being heavy-handed with the pepper flakes and paprika (used sweet Hungarian, my Spanish paprika is smoked, maybe I'll try that next time since I bet that goes with the roasty goodness). I did end up using the entire amount of vinegar, it was perfect for me. I think some brands are more sharp and others more smooth, so I bet that makes a difference. I asked in the Recipe Exchange if the garlic should be peeled before or after roasting, and the submitter herself answered (also Rhianna) within just a few minutes that peeling before hand works better, but either way is okay. I used parchment instead of foil on the baking pan, and got perfect consistency with a food processor. Just got a great idea since I have more baguette to use up: Make a pizza-type thing with baguette sliced horizontally and toasted, topped with romesco, then olives, artichoke hearts and parmesan! I know what is for lunch (okay maybe breakfast) tomorrow. Thanks Angie this is one of the best things I've tried in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
WOW! That was delicious! I served it with roast chicken breast, pan-seared asparagus, thyme roasted potatoes, and french bread. I couldn't decide what to slather it on. So I slathered it on everything. There's more for tomorrow and I'm looking forward to it! I used a few tablespoons of vinegar to start, then added to taste. Didn't roast the garlic, but it was fine raw (if you like that sort of thing), and didn't have tomatoes, so I used some leftover marinara sauce and leftover dried bread crumbs instead of stale bread. I used two red bell peppers and one fresh pasilla pepper, roasted. I used regular paprika because it's all I had and less olive oil than called for. I love the versatility of this sauce! Oh and did I mention it was amazingly delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Really delicious! I made this exactly as written and I'm glad I did. If you are expecting a tomato or regualr red pasta sauce, don't. This is different, and something really special. I used it with grilled tuna and polenta tonight, but especially loved mopping it up with chewy bread. Thanks, Angie! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was SPECTACULAR and came out exactly as described. I found that using the same amount of vinegar called for was a bit tangy at first but by the next day it had mellowed perfectly!, I made semolina toasts, spread with romesco, topped with finely chopped black olives, artichokes and parsley and then a dollop of goat cheese. Made 30 of these and they were all gone in 15 minutes of guest arriving. Triple batch next time for sure. Thanks for such a versatile delicious recipe that I will make for years to come with my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alley_cat13
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Oh boy! this is definitely different, whether that's good or bad depends on your tastes. this sauce did not work for me and my family and i will not be making it again, too bad too cuz i really wanted to like this sauce :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alley_cat13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States