Romesco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
OMGoodness! I made this at 12:00pm for dinner and couldn't wait for the Italian bread that I was making. I grabbed a slice of store bought Italian bread, toasted it, and ate it for lunch. This was so refreshing, delicous, and complimented a hot spring day. I can't wait to try it on chicken and pasta! Thank you AngieItaliano for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I made this exactly as written, except used just regular paprika (hey, it is what I had in the cupboard) & it was WON-DER-FUL!!! Perfect just as is... Thanks for sharing AngieI!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This was fantastic! I used this as a dip for bread and the flavors were great. Everyone really enjoyed it. I will try this with fish or chicken soon! If I would try this for pasta, however, I think I would cut down on the vinegar a little to take away a bit of the tartness. I will definately be making this again! Thanks, Angie. :) SIDE NOTE: Angie, I just have to let you know that my 2 year old son absolutely LOVES this sauce. He keeps saying, "mmmmm...good sauce". Thanks again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This recipe was excellent. We served it tossed with angel hair pasta and chicken breast. Thanks for sharing Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Loved it as a dip for bead and crackers. I'll use a little less vinegar next time but there will be a next time... it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Thanks all for trying out the Romesco Sauce. Just a note that I should have had in the recipe. The garlic can be peeled or unpeeled at roasting time. I peel mine. The biggest complaint from reviewers has been that it's too vinegary. Please use less vinegar to start with, since some vinegars are stronger than others, and then if you are a vinegar freak like me, add more :] Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
So Spanish & so delicious! All 3 world travelers who tasted this LOVED it. We each want to make this again & again! I made it & personally LOVED it exactly as written though the vinegar is noticeable, so you may want to start with a little less vinegar, taste, & then decide if more's wanted. Although I served this as an appetizer on baguette slices, it is also a great dip for savory empanadas (such as cheese, shrimp, or potatoes & chorizo), for dipping celery & carrots, or as a sauce for pasta, chicken, shrimp...you'll find many ways to use this full-flavored, adaptable sauce! Bravo, AngieItaliano! (Maybe your "nom de plume" should be AngieEspanola!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Oh Baby Come To Mamma. I've been munching on this with toasted baguette slices and veggie dippers. I just wanted to try it as a snack before I started dinner. Now I have to push back dinner because I keep eating this! So you say this gets better after sitting? I'm in trouble, I'm cooking only for myself and thought I'd have a bunch for the freezer. Kept to the recipe, except for being heavy-handed with the pepper flakes and paprika (used sweet Hungarian, my Spanish paprika is smoked, maybe I'll try that next time since I bet that goes with the roasty goodness). I did end up using the entire amount of vinegar, it was perfect for me. I think some brands are more sharp and others more smooth, so I bet that makes a difference. I asked in the Recipe Exchange if the garlic should be peeled before or after roasting, and the submitter herself answered (also Rhianna) within just a few minutes that peeling before hand works better, but either way is okay. I used parchment instead of foil on the baking pan, and got perfect consistency with a food processor. Just got a great idea since I have more baguette to use up: Make a pizza-type thing with baguette sliced horizontally and toasted, topped with romesco, then olives, artichoke hearts and parmesan! I know what is for lunch (okay maybe breakfast) tomorrow. Thanks Angie this is one of the best things I've tried in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is freakin' insane. A flavor explosion. I made exactly according to recipe, only adding the red wine vinegar by tbsp. until it felt right. I just dipped a spoon into it to taste it before dinner. A couple times. And I'm about to go again. I'm planning on serving this on whole wheat pasta for my family with fresh parm but for me, I'm having it over roasted vegetables. Awesome recipe, Miss Angie. This one's a keeper. For sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was wonderful! My only change was that I used half the vinegar. I served it over ravioli with fresh rosemary on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States