Romesco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
SO flavorful and fresh tasting! I didn't use the bread and used only 1/3 cup olive oil. This was SO much better the next day, I highly recommend making it a day ahead of time. It was tasty a couple hours after making it and having it sit in the refrigerator, but even better overnight. The Italian in me wants to add chopped basil to this recipe, though I know that takes away from its Spanish authenticity I know that would be an excellent addition. I'd also like to try this with pine nuts sometime. Thanks Angie, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was different. I'm not really sure how to rate this. I did exactly as the recipe called for. I think it's the texture of the nuts I need to get used to. Can't wait to try it on pizza or as a sauce. Right now, I've just been dipping my french loaf into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
THIS SAUCE IS AMAZING! Used it for pizza sauce with the Honey Wheat Pizza Dough from this site, topped with goat cheese and lots of fresh basil. I'm so happy this was the sauce I picked! I changed this a little based on my personal preferences and what I had on hand, but it would be great just as written. I used 1 1/2 bell peppers, added a few more tomatoes, included 2 shallots, sub'd basil oil for the olive oil, and sub'd spicy balsamic vinegar and a little rice wine vinegar (didn't have red wine vinegar). I didn't add the bread or almonds - might add toasted pine nuts next time. Lots left over, which I froze for my next pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great with rosemary bread dipped in it and I used the rosemary bread as the toast in the recipe as well. I cut the vinegar in half and it still had an excellent vinegar bite. Really a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I kept thinking "What? No onions? No basil or oregano?" but after one taste I realized this sauce doesn't need a single thing added to it! Simply PERFECT! My only changes were to reduce the vinegar - I probably used 3 1/2 tbsp. or so, just added a little at a time and kept tasting, then at the end I probably ended up drizzling in 1/4 cup of olive oil. Had a little with some toasted baguette and crackers, and then on top of pasta for dinner. Just delicious! I think next time I'll try pulsing the almonds first, though, as my food processor is old and tired and I ended up finding a couple large chunks. I really didn't want to blend the sauce any further as it was just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I made it today. wonderful! I added a bit more olive oil,but beyond that it is great. My boyfriend is preparing grilled salmon with fresh asparagus. It will be a great addition! I' ll let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesome cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Angie, this is one of those dishes that grows on you. I made it yesterday and had some of it last night as a dipping sauce for Italian-marinated chicken. I think it will be splendid with Jo's Rosemary Bread from this site or over capellini with some capers. It has a unique flavor. Thanks for broadening my taste experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was really good. I left out almost all of the oil to cut the calories and it was great. I love vinegar so it wasn't too vinegar-y for me. I've had this on a mixture of roasted zucchini, crookneck, eggplant and tomatoes and also on top of breaded/seasoned baked chicken breasts. Both ways were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was wonderful! My only change was that I used half the vinegar. I served it over ravioli with fresh rosemary on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is freakin' insane. A flavor explosion. I made exactly according to recipe, only adding the red wine vinegar by tbsp. until it felt right. I just dipped a spoon into it to taste it before dinner. A couple times. And I'm about to go again. I'm planning on serving this on whole wheat pasta for my family with fresh parm but for me, I'm having it over roasted vegetables. Awesome recipe, Miss Angie. This one's a keeper. For sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States