Romesco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
THIS SAUCE IS THE BOSS. and perfect for my vegan company. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
WOW! That was delicious! I served it with roast chicken breast, pan-seared asparagus, thyme roasted potatoes, and french bread. I couldn't decide what to slather it on. So I slathered it on everything. There's more for tomorrow and I'm looking forward to it! I used a few tablespoons of vinegar to start, then added to taste. Didn't roast the garlic, but it was fine raw (if you like that sort of thing), and didn't have tomatoes, so I used some leftover marinara sauce and leftover dried bread crumbs instead of stale bread. I used two red bell peppers and one fresh pasilla pepper, roasted. I used regular paprika because it's all I had and less olive oil than called for. I love the versatility of this sauce! Oh and did I mention it was amazingly delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This sauce is soooo goood!, a little too garlicky for us (and we love garlic) so next time Ill only use 8 garlic cloves I also reduced the olive oil to a little more than 1/4 of a cup and as per other reviewers suggestions I also reduced the red wine vinegar to 1/4 of a cup. Excellent sauce will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by alley_cat13
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Oh boy! this is definitely different, whether that's good or bad depends on your tastes. this sauce did not work for me and my family and i will not be making it again, too bad too cuz i really wanted to like this sauce :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alley_cat13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Heavenly! I just made this for dinner and I can't stop picking at it. The blend of flavors is absolutely perfect. I did add less vinegar, because I know my guys wouldn't like it with the full amount. Even my little guy said it was yummy. I can't wait to try it over chicken next time. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Delicious. I meant to add the vinegar a bit at a time to taste as suggested, and then forgot entirely; although I found it a bit vinegary when I first blended it, two hours later after the flavours had melded, it wasn't too much at all. A beautiful, versatile sauce that I will definitely make again -- probably frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
FANTASTIC!!! Used normal tomatoes rather than plum tomatoes as it was all I had but the result was still fantastic. Also used Sambal over chilies as it was already a paste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marijke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This was definitely different from any sauce I am used to, but it was delicious! After reading some reviews, I made this the day before and refrigerated overnight for the flavours to meld and I also used only half the vinegar called for because I don't like stuff too tangy. I served this on sliced Italian Bread with Steamed Shrimp. I have to admit at first bite I wasn't sure if I liked it - but as I kept eating - oh my! It was like the sauce was calling my name! Thanks for sharing Angie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Ok so here's the deal... This was unlike any sauce I have ever made or tasted before. It wasn't at all what I was expecting although very easy to make. I think the tanginess of the vinegar and nutty taste threw me off a bit, I guess because I didn't think these flavors would be as noticable as they were. We tried it over pasta and on bread and preferred it on the bread. Instead of serving over pasta, I think I may have liked it better over fish or chicken or even vegetables? I'm certainly glad we tested this out, I'm just not sure this was the sauce recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This sauce was so delicious! As suggested, I halved the amount of vinegar and it came out perfect. Served over cheese raviolli and rosemary bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States