Romesco Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is excellent and very easy to make. I do advice cutting the vinegar in half as others have suggested -- then add as needed to taste. I found 1/2 teaspoon of salt sufficient. I also used Rosemary sourdough bread to add to the flavor (as opposed to plain bread). I also reduced the oil to 1/4 cup, which seemed more than enough. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. This sauce is thick enough to use as a dip, thin enough to use as a sauce for pasta or vegetables, and I believe it would work as a sandwich spread as well. Very versatile, and I look forward to attempting some variations. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This made alot. I used some the night I made it as a sauce for some grilled veggies, then throughout the week on baked potatoes, a omelet, as a sandwich/burger spread. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This was so simple to make and it's delicious. There's really nothing else to say. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
We had romesco sauce at our wedding and I wanted to replicate our meal. I tried this recipe and while it wasn't bad it just didn't have the same flavor I was looking for. I followed the recipe as written. The garlic was really strong. I'm not sure I would do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made this because it was on the recipe group list from the past. I didn't know exactly what to expect, taste or color wise. However, the color came out a Thousand Island dressing orange nearly. I followed the recipe exactly except I had to use some white wine vinegar with the red wine vinegar as I was a little short. I don't think it should have affected the color or flavor that much. I expected the flavor of this to be amazing. Not one tasty ingredient didn't go into it except the AMOUNT OF VINEGAR IS A LOT! I wish now I would have read the first review and went slow with it like I originally was considering. I think I would have been happy with half the amount. I ended up adding a little more olive oil to try to cut through and it did help. Start with half and then add more as needed unless you are trying to make red pepper vinegar sauce. I am going to try this on something mild to see if it blends well. Tomato sauce isn't amazing on its own either. The recipe also makes a lot! So, I would not only add the vinegar to taste but I would scale it down if you don't need 3 plus cups of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
A-MAZZZIINNGGG!!!!!!!!!!!! Even used it as a base for the sunset tomato soup and added to guacamole. If you aren't a vinegar fan I would cut back a little and not use 1/2C. I was skeptical of the bread, but it gave it the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I cannot believe I have never heard of or had this before! It is to die for! We are definitely hooked. I did reduce the vinegar and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHJANE13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was SPECTACULAR and came out exactly as described. I found that using the same amount of vinegar called for was a bit tangy at first but by the next day it had mellowed perfectly!, I made semolina toasts, spread with romesco, topped with finely chopped black olives, artichokes and parsley and then a dollop of goat cheese. Made 30 of these and they were all gone in 15 minutes of guest arriving. Triple batch next time for sure. Thanks for such a versatile delicious recipe that I will make for years to come with my own touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
THIS SAUCE IS THE BOSS. and perfect for my vegan company. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
WOW! That was delicious! I served it with roast chicken breast, pan-seared asparagus, thyme roasted potatoes, and french bread. I couldn't decide what to slather it on. So I slathered it on everything. There's more for tomorrow and I'm looking forward to it! I used a few tablespoons of vinegar to start, then added to taste. Didn't roast the garlic, but it was fine raw (if you like that sort of thing), and didn't have tomatoes, so I used some leftover marinara sauce and leftover dried bread crumbs instead of stale bread. I used two red bell peppers and one fresh pasilla pepper, roasted. I used regular paprika because it's all I had and less olive oil than called for. I love the versatility of this sauce! Oh and did I mention it was amazingly delicious?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States