Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
aah, people. I have found the secret to this recipe. ADD some HERBS DE PROVENCE when cooking the mushrooms and artichokes - it is the perfect spice and compliments the delicate flavors of the wine and mushrooms, bringing out the natural flavors sweetly with a lovely country herb taste. If you want to really enjoy the dish to its fullest, I recommend a few sprinkles of Herbs de Provence to round out this mature, delicious dish. (Also, it went well over orzo as prepared in the Orzo with Parmesan and Basil recipe, and with some steamed asparagus.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
With the following modifications this dish was fabulous! I chopped 6 boneless, skinless thighs into bite sized pieces, added 5 cloves minced garlic and 3 chilies de arbol to the butter & oil, saute'd and then set aside. I used sherry instead of white wine and just to be sure I put a spoonful (just before the final step) in a bowl and tasted it with and without heavy cream - ADD THE CREAM! The cream adds to the presentation as well. After I added the capers I added 1 cup or 1/2 pint of heavy cream and served over white rice. It was fabulous! Even my boyfriend, who isn't a fan of artichokes, LOVED it and scarfed it up like there was no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I actually did not try this recipe yet. It is similiar to one that I have had for years and have enjoyed. Some differences that people may want to incorporate to address the blandness are as follows: Saute the bnls chix (in strips) in a little butter and some white wine. In a separate pan heat 1 13 oz can of artichoke hearts (I use packed in water), juice of 1/2 lemon and 1/2 lime, 1 13oz can of peeled and diced tomatoes, and some nice herbs (parsley, shallots, chives, pepper) and some garlic. The other difference is I have always served over rice. I love the basmati rice. The acid from the lemon, lime, and tomato really perks up the dish. Hope it helps. I actually originally got this recipe from a very nice restaurant I worked in during college (a lifetime ago!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I am so glad I made this, it was FANTASTIC! I was a little leery to make this recipe since there were several people who said it was so bland and horrible but I decided to trust the majority who loved it. I tried it out on my husband and my friend last night my friend already called me today for the recipe! I added lots of minced garlic, salt, and pepper to the recipe. I also used some cornstartch to thicken the sauce and I chopped up the chicken after I browned it and I used a full carton of mushrooms. I served it over buttered and salted fusilli then topped with fresh parmasean...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I tried this recipe for my catering business. It is awesome. Very Flavorful. I grilled the chicken breasts, then put in a pan with the wine etc and baked at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. I then drained off the liquid, added a little water and chicken base and thicked and poured this sauce over the chicken. It is to die for. Thanks for the recipe, I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Great Recipe! I'm on a low carb diet so I ate mine with just the chicken and put it over pasta for the boys. I did make some changes. I cut the chicken into chunks. I also sauteed the chicken with some garlic and wine. I used low carb chardonney. I used 18 oz. of artichokes and 8 oz of sliced mushrooms. I also only used 3 chicken breasts. Altered the capers to 2 Tbls. I also used alot of herbs de provence to flavor the chicken. I then added some lemon and lime to the sauce to give it more tang. THe sauce wasn't thick enough and I didn't want to use cornstarch due to the carbs so I used some heavy whipping cream being careful to make sure the sauce wasn't to acidic to curdle. I put the mixture for the boys over bowtie pasta. It was a hit and will definately make again was definately restaurant quality! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Awesome! I added Herbs from Provence and dredged the chicken in flour before cooking. I also thickened the sauce with corn starch and added added lemon juice. Served with angel hair pasta...It was restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Interesting recipe - rather easy. The "sauce" has to boil down for considerably longer than it takes the chicken to cook to get to the right consistency, especially if eating with pasta. The overall sauce is extremely sour between the artichoke marinade the white wine and the capers. I smoothed it out with some heavy whipping cream and thickened it with a bit of cornstarch. Next time, saute some shallots in with the artichokes & mushrooms to sweeten the sauce further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
restaurant quality. added fresh spinach and red bell pepper slices. also thickened with flour and cream. served over angel hair pasta, and balsamic baked asparagus, and for dessert - strawberries and wine over ice cream(both recipes found here). awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Loved this recipe. I made some changes as suggested by other reviewers. I did add garlic, lemon juice, and herbs de provance. I also used sherry. The flavor was wonderful. Will make again---soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States