Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times; Originally a book club friend made it for a holiday dinner. It's really good the way it is. Have made it with chicken on the bone too. Just remember is takes longer to saute before adding the other ingredients. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Just made this and it was delish! I did add some diced red peppers for color and flavor. If you are not a fan of wine sauces , you can substitute chicken broth, or cut the wine in half and fill in liquid measurement w/broth. My husband and I are trying to eat less carbs, so I served it over Miracle Noodles and it was fantastic. This one is in the recipe box for sure !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodLovie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The recipe is fairly easy. I listened to other reviewers and dredged the chicken in flour with salt and pepper, and added herbs de Provence to the cooking mushrooms and artichokes. I sprinkled Wondra to thicken the sauce some and simmered on low-medium heat, but the sauce was still quite thin. I probably could have added more Wondra. I served it with noodles and steamed cauliflower. It was good, and I would make it again. My husband is not a fan of acidic flavors and did not like the artichoke marinade. Next time I might substitute chicken broth for that portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I could eat this every day! I've made this probably 6 or 7 times now and I always serve it over wild rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've made this many times before- it used to be a staple in our household! I gave it a rest for about a year, until last night. I've stopped eating meat, so I left the chicken out of this- I used 1 lb of mushrooms, 2 10-oz jars of artichokes (with about 1/2 the reserved liquid from one), 3/4 cup white wine, and the capers. A little flour to thicken the sauce, then Served over linguine. DELISH as a vegetarian dish! As for many who said the flavor is too tart- maybe it depends on the brand of marinated artichokes that you use- I've never had that problem. I've also thrown in some Italian dressing when I've accidentally bought plain artichokes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Added garlic and heavy cream. A little too "watery" but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great recipe! My entire family loved it and its easy to make with simple ingredients. I tried the Herbs De Provence because several people on this site suggest it. I also made the orzo with parmesan and basil as a side and it went well with it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Hardin King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
for one thing with this you really have to use marinated artichoke hearts....not the plain ones...or it is totally bland. I only had plain on hand. tried it...no flavor even before cooking...so I took the veggies out (shrooms and chokes) and marinated them in Greek salad dressing...which gve it some lemon/garlic flavor. Better, but still bland. So I just dumped the dressing I was marinating the veggies in (1/2 c of Greek dressing) into the sauce as well. Now it has some flavor. So...this is a good base to start with....but still needs some extra jazzing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Has anyone tried using plain yogurt instead of heavy cream? Just curious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preslei's Nana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was quite good. I added cream to the finished product just to make it a bit more decadent. I did leave out the capers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States