Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Surprisingly boring and kind of tasteless. Still, I'm glad I used frozen artichokes rather than the marinated variety because it then would have been tasteless and too tangy. I forgot the capers but I don't think it would have made a difference had I included them. The addition of shallots and garlic didn't do much for this either. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I did not use the artichoke liquid. I felt as though it would be too soupy. Great taste though....very light for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dietitian1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Fabulous! A few small amount left over and heated up so well! I followed the recipe as shown. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Really good recipe. Be sure not to overcook... my guest was late for dinner so I left it on low for longer than I should have, definitely made the chicken dry out some but that was my fault. The flavors came together really well and I can't wait to make it again, this time for the right amount of cooking time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weslie Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Do not cook in a cast iron skillet!~ The citric acid liquid saved from the artichokes had a reaction with the iron and turned all of the ingredients grey! A major disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I used to cook this for my previous husband who passed away 5 years ago. I remarried and have not tried this again until tonight. When I asked how he liked it (I used the herbs de Provence, thickened the sauce and added cream - yum!), he said "It's okay". He did not like the taste of the artichokes (canned). He is a Midwestern farm boy and likes plain food. His idea of a spice/ herb is ketchup. I once made coq au vin and he doused it with ketchup. He did the same with my boeuf bourguinon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was ok , I was disappointed with the flavors, and I am glad I read some reviews about adding cream to the finished sauce. It was a "dry" sauce, tart, and I added Italian seasoning as it simmered since I tasted it during the simmering. I don't think the capers added anything, and should have skipped them since it added more sourness. I liked all the veggies in it, but will look for other recipes using this combo. I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed green beans. - Koriander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Sort of tasteless !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I first cut up the chicken into bite size pieces and sautéed, then added mushrooms,sliced heirloom tomatoes, minced garlic, onion,kale, artichokes,capers and a Hungarian pepper. I used a cup of Sauvignon blanc, liquid from artichokes and a little organic chicken stock. I served this over Israel pearled couscous and quinoa. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by bbrowneyes64
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was excellent! I did add a couple things. I chopped about half a shallot and 1 clove of garlic and sautéed it with the oil and butter to give the chicken some taste because I am on a sodium restricted diet so could not salt the chicken. I also left out the capers as I am not a fan and used chicken broth instead of the reserved brine. The rest stayed the same. I will defiantly be having this again! So easy to make too!! Picture added above :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States