Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've made this many times before- it used to be a staple in our household! I gave it a rest for about a year, until last night. I've stopped eating meat, so I left the chicken out of this- I used 1 lb of mushrooms, 2 10-oz jars of artichokes (with about 1/2 the reserved liquid from one), 3/4 cup white wine, and the capers. A little flour to thicken the sauce, then Served over linguine. DELISH as a vegetarian dish! As for many who said the flavor is too tart- maybe it depends on the brand of marinated artichokes that you use- I've never had that problem. I've also thrown in some Italian dressing when I've accidentally bought plain artichokes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Added garlic and heavy cream. A little too "watery" but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Great recipe! My entire family loved it and its easy to make with simple ingredients. I tried the Herbs De Provence because several people on this site suggest it. I also made the orzo with parmesan and basil as a side and it went well with it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Hardin King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
for one thing with this you really have to use marinated artichoke hearts....not the plain ones...or it is totally bland. I only had plain on hand. tried it...no flavor even before cooking...so I took the veggies out (shrooms and chokes) and marinated them in Greek salad dressing...which gve it some lemon/garlic flavor. Better, but still bland. So I just dumped the dressing I was marinating the veggies in (1/2 c of Greek dressing) into the sauce as well. Now it has some flavor. So...this is a good base to start with....but still needs some extra jazzing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Has anyone tried using plain yogurt instead of heavy cream? Just curious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preslei's Nana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was quite good. I added cream to the finished product just to make it a bit more decadent. I did leave out the capers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is now an often requested favorite. Easy, flavorful and great to serve guests too.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCouple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
My husband is not a fan of artichokes, well that was until I made this recipe for him! I added in some fresh minced garlic and I also add in a cup of chicken stock along with the wine so I would have enough sauce to server over angel hair pasta with crusty bread. The recipe really lives up to its title!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is a winner and definately going into my recipe book. I followed other reviewers' advice and added herbs, garlic and lemon juice. My boyfriend LOVES it (must be because artichokes and capers are two of his favourite foods...). Making it again tonight! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe was absolutely d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allendye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States