Romantic Chicken with Artichokes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was delicious--I added much more garlic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I'm giving this four stars because I think without the additions I made, it would have been too bland. I started by sauteeing onion and garlic in the olive oil and butter, then added some sage and thyme. I browned the chicken, then while that was cooking, added the mushrooms, frozen artichokes (from Trader Joes), and halved grape tomatoes. I used lemon white cooking wine, a splash of lemon juice, and a splash of soy sauce. As it was finishing up, I added the capers, a bit of garlic salt to bring out the flavors and about a tablespoon of corn starch to thicken the sauce. My husband thought it would be good with some olives in the mix, too. Overall with these modifications, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I tried this recipe with a few modifications. Added fresh ground Italian seasoning to chicken, as well as some crushed red pepper. Used sherry instead of white wine (mainly b/c I didn't have the latter, but the sherry worked great!), used quartered canned chokes and reserved THAT liquid to combine w/ the sherry. Once the chx was set aside and the liquids had simmered awhile w/ the chokes and shrooms, I sirred in somewhere around 2/3 cup sour cream to the sauce to make it a little creamy and thicken it up. Stuck the chicken in the sauce to simmer through for the time it took to boil some egg noodles to toss w/ the sauce. This was a total winner. Tangy, fresh (x-tra capers for me, please!) and lighter with the egg noodles. Easy, but impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I've made this recipe a few times and is always a hit. It's exactly like a dish that is served at one of my favorite restaurants. The only change I make is to add a little bit of flour to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Delicious! Doubled the recipe for my mom’s birthday dinner. I added cornstarch to the left over liquid to make a thicker sauce to poor over the egg noodles. I would also recommend using half marinated artichoke hearts and the other half plain. It was took much tartness from the vinegar in the marinade and the wine- too over powering. But everyone LOVED it! Clean plates all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was just not as good as it looked. I think the problem was the marinated artichokes, which added a strange flavor for this type of dish. Even my husband, who'll eat anything, didn't really like this. Probably using artichokes from a can would make this a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARONDALE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Good. Needed to sautee a little minced shallot before adding the mushrooms and artichokes. I also added a little chicken broth. Hint - flour the chicken before sauteeing. The juice/sauce will thicken after adding the chicken back to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I felt this recipe lacked alot of flavor so I changed it around by adding a can of chicken broth and a 1/2 cup of marsala wine. To thicken the sauce I used 1/4 cup of water with 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and a little gravy master to make it brown. Also season with alot of chopped garlic when cooking mushrooms and artichokes (did not use marinated ones). Flouring chicken and add salt/pepper to that is very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I found this recipe GOOD but not great. For me it needed more artichokes and mushrooms. I felt it lacked in ingredience volumn, but had a good taste. If I made it again I would artichoke and mushroom it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCLASSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I thought it was kind of bland. I followed the recipe exactly and I felt the majority of the taste came from the canned artichokes, which tasted like tin. I will try it one more time and add some more herbs, garlic, pepper, and I will use fresh artichokes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Chicken with Mushrooms

Breaded chicken breasts are baked with mushrooms and melty mozzarella.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States