Romanov Russian Black Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
It's what black bread (cherniy xleb) is supposed to taste like. Those who are insulting the recipe have clearly NEVER had actual Russian black bread. It's nothing like white bread, and it's not supposed to be like it!! Great with butter, served with a side of pickles and vodka. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsvesti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
real black Russian bread! AWESOME! to the other reviewers...this is authentic it isn't supposed to be fluff and full of gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I did not cook it, but maybe the others have not been in Russia and eaten Russian bread. It sounds how it should be!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Exactly how Russian black bread should be. I used all of the rye flour and it came together easily. This bread does not rise very high. It is heavy and dense. Slice very thin, butter and eat with a nice bowl of soup. My mom used to buy this same bread in the deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Interesting, and different. This is wonderful with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Very heavy bread, with delicious flavour. At first I thought that the flour/water ratio was off too, but I just kept kneading the flour in until I had the right consistency (not all 5 cups went in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is not a bad recipe. Better than most, but you have to use sourdough to raise a pure rye bread. Do that and you will get a pretty fair American-Russian black bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray Givan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Very dense, heavy, strong flavored bread. Not quite what one's taste is used to after the years of "fluff" breads from the commercial bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This recipe does not work at all. The flour to water ratio doesn't make sense and results a rock that won't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Did the submitor forget a few ingredients? First of all, it's hard enough trying to cram 5 cups of flour into 1 cup of water, and the result is a very chalky loaf, and wasted rye flour. Also, shouldn't there be some other flour with it, you know, for gluten?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States