Romanov Piroshki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I tried the recipe, and yes its a wonderful idea, but I followed your recipe step by step with exact proportions and temps and the dough turned out WAY too tough. It almost broke off my tooth! The meat was tasty, but I'd revise how to make the dough or how long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Way too dry dough and tasteless meat mix, I had to "doctor" it up and proportions were way off in this recipe, I had lots of meat left over, enough for a 2nd batch of dough and beyond, you must analyze this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I was looking for something different, and this was amazing! I did not have any salt at home, so I had to use a steak burger seasoning instead. I also decided to cook it at 375* instead of 400* after reading about the dough being tough. I thought it was great! It had a nice almost crispy texture to it....VERY good! We ate them with ketchup. They went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Would be better fried or with yeast rolls. The dough was a little tough but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Angier, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Some have commented on the dough being tough. I make homemade potato/sauerkraut perogies with this dough...only to soften the dough mix all ingredients but add water so dough is sticky- then add flour to make the dough rollable. Important also to let dough rest in a bowl covered with plastic/lid. Let rest approx. 20-30 minutes. May need to add flour to rolling surface to keep from sticking-be careful not to over flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really nice recipe. It was definately a hit with all members of my family (there are 7 of us so pleasing all is a little bit difficult sometimes) I served them with sour cream and I deep fried mine. The only thing is that the dough was a little tough, so next time I will try a different dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Whenever I ate pirozhki at the delis in SanFrancisco, they were mostly deep fried. However, with times getting more "healthier," baking seems to be a good way to cut down on the fat as well as the calories. I ask you, though, "Why spare anything with something so tried and true for quite some time?? I deep-fry mine without shame AND I have PLENTY of sour cream to dip or to spoon onto them (in more polite company that I would never serve this anyway!). My guest and I sit about and eat ALL we want and just ENJOY the wonderful flavor. Usually, I serve a nice beet borshch along with the pirozhkis and, again, there is plenty of sour cream to add to the borshch as well. I only make these a few times a year and, like bliny, we just stuff ourselves to the gills and have a lot of fun for the afternoon and evening, taking our time and slowly but surely depleting the complete supply among 6-8 of us (of course, there is the vodka and the music of the bards as well). As they say in Russian, "Tikho yedish, dalshe budesh." (Slowly, but surely.) Now why the 3 stars? There is no dill in the meat stuffing! No dill, no REAL pirozhki!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I made these last night because my brother is a major meat eater and very picky. I like to cook internationally as often as possible and he said that he would eat them. Really it's like a hamburger in a shell, that's what sold him. I cut the amount of onion and added cayanne pepper, italian seasoning, garlic and cheese to add flavor. It was a major hit. However, I only used a pound of ground beef and the standard dough recipe and got 24 pockets. Next time, and my brother has demanded a next time, I plan to use pizza dough. The other was just too tough. But it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockerbabie84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnson City, New York, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I thought it a little tough, next time I will reduce the heat a little. I also added more spices to the meat and did not blend it. Cheddar cheese goes great with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
these were a little tough but my father reminded me that the ones we ate when I was young from a little russion resturant in SanFrancisco were deep fried, maybe that would make the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States