Romanian Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Really yummy. Also added a handful of raisins. Baked for 75 minutes in a greased/floured bundt pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
wonderful ! wonderful ! This is such a delicious cake, moist & tasty. I made this yesterday for company & WOW !! fantastic, and I made it exactly as written, using 4 very large granny smith apples. It seemed a peculiar texture after mixing in the appple chunks & walnuts, (seemed to be chopped apples with a sauce). However, it turned out yummy! Thank you for this delightful recipe & I see no reason for anyone to change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe was very easy and very yummy. I have made four apple cakes in the last 2 weeks--all have been devoured by my family quickly. The only thing I did differently was to add more cinnamon and I made a powdered sugar glaze to go over it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeaninne Raaberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is wonderful!!! I have found a new cake for the holidays. Didn't have any walnuts. So moist and good. Got it out of the oven and it is nearly gone. Made a fresh pot of coffee to go with it as I was out of milk. Told my husband that it would be good with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Made it several times. Always delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I made exactly like recipe. It was very easy and turned out awesome!! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
this is my favorite apple cake recipe! you can switch the sugar for splenda but I add water to get the batter consistency right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was my best baking effort ever!! The cake is delicious, moist has great flavor and came out of the pan and cut like a dream. I made the whole thing in my food processor and dumped...easy! My hubby has had a piece every time he walks in the kitchen! I followed the recipe exactly but only used two small apples I had on hand and some ripe mango. I tossed flour, pecans and butter together and topped it before baking. Incredibly delicious. I think the reviews that thought the cake wasn't tasty used old cinnamon or not enough vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hara Maderich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe! Of course being that I am Romanian myself, I had to give it a try. I've used it for countless gatherings, occasions, etc. each time I make it, people rave about it and ask for the recipe. My mother-in-law (who was born in Romania) also asked me for this recipe so that's how I definitely knew this was a hit. It is a moist and delicious cake! I especially like that it is not overly sweet. I usually coat the cake with powdered sugar well after it cooled off, or....... for those days when I just need the "extra something", I serve it warm out of the oven with a scoop of ice cream (preferably vanilla or butter pecan) right on top. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States