Romance Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Got great reviews. I bit hard to cut. Next time I will make them on parchment paper and lift out to cut. I used unsweetened coconut. For the icing I recommend making on third to one half the recipe and just drizzling it over the top. Going to make a second batch today and use up the rest of the icing I have left from Friday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These bars are thin and quite sweet. My children did not think they were that good. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Thank you Jeri, just what I was looking for. I didn't bother with the frosting as they are perfect without it. Though I supose if I wanted to make them look fancy perhaps just a light drizzle. They were a big hit with the men I bake for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Yummy!!!! I saved the juice from the cherries and made a glaze of powdered sugar and the juice and drizzled over the bars instead of frosting them. They looked festive with the dark pink glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These were delicious. We made them to go in a goodie box for grandparents for Valentines day and they were a huge hit. It did take quite a bit to make them, and I had to substitute Splenda for the sugar and brown sugar because my son is diabetic, but they were awesome. I doubled the entire recipe to make some nice thick cake like bars but only made the exact amount of icing the recipe called for. I don't think it needed any more sweetness, they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryGina
Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is the best, sweetest treat I have ever had. The first year I used candied cherries by mistake. I bought the wrong ones :o) I actually liked them better. They gave the bars a tighter consistency. Doesn't seem to matter which way I make them though, my family, friends and co-workers can't get enough. I've made them 3 years running for the Holiday Season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I made this for Valentines Day in a heart-shaped pan. Boy is this rich. I also added chocolate chips. It reminds me of a blond brownie with lots of extras sitting on a pie crust. Cherries are the magic touch, and I bet macadamia nuts would really show it off next time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My family really liked these bars. The cherries made them a little different. I cut the frosting recipe in half and just drizzled it over the bars. They were moist and had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I made these at Christmas and added them to the platters of cookies I give to family and friends. They were my favorite new cookie this year! I love the combination of walnuts, coconut and cherries. They were a little sweet, but I had cut them pretty small so they would go further, and they were only 1 or 2 bites. Just enough! they were easy to make, and I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I did not like the icing - it was better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States