Romaine and Mandarin Orange Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I really like the whole idea, but it was way way way too sweet, even for me - and I'm the Queen of Sugar! I will make this again, but cut the sugar in half and add more mustard, perhaps Dijon or Yellow (not just the powder) To the salad, I added the other half of the onion, sliced thin, sprinkled on blue cheese crumbles and some croutons. It was still so sweet it was kind of making me sick towards the end of it, but those savory elements helped somewhat and I would do that again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it's a keeper. I especially appreciate how easy this is to make. The dressing is just a good all-around salad dressing. Like others, I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSA650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Easy and delicious! Really liked the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe turned out great. The first time I made it, the sugar was too much. And the red onions turned the dressing pink. The onion flavor was overwhelming. I started over. I cut the sugar to about 2 T and used dijon mustard. Then subbed the veg oil with olive oil. No salt needed. The dijon took care of that. Served it with organic chicken breast. A little fresh chopped onion. Feta and almonds. Nice! 2nd time Great flavors! Beautiful summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Nice, refreshing salad for a hot summer day. Used turkey bacon, subbed (i) 1/3 cup sugar + Stevia in the Raw to equal 3/4 cup sugar, (ii) almond oil for vegetable, and (iii) BD Smokehouse® almonds for toasted almonds. Easy to make, colorful presentation, and very tasty. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Wonderful salad...although I did change it up a bit, but wouldn't have thought of these combinations, so thank you. Used romaine lettuce, fresh clementine sections, bacon and french fried onions (the kind in a can). Instead of making the dressing, I had Ott's Poppy Seed dressing on hand and used that....marvelous, simply marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Wow - now this is a salad! It's full of vibrant colors and it's a great combination of flavors. I can see why the submitter gets rave reviews when it's served. I know I certainly did! And, I'm glad I read through the reviews, because I cut the sugar in half and that was plenty. I also opted for olive oil vs. veg. oil and dijon vs. dry mustard. You can definitely play with this to suite your tastes and you won't be disapppointed. I added some dried cranberries to the mix for that little extra something... Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My family loves this every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This dressing is awesome and will get you tons of compliments. I recommend making this dressing one day before you use it because the flavors will mellow out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Just got back from a family gathering. My salad bowl was the only empty one at the end of the meal. Everyone asked for the recipe, even the men! I cut back on the sugar, added half an apple to the dressing (double batch). I used half baby spinach and half mixed greens. Wow, after all these years of cooking I even impressed myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States