Romaine and Mandarin Orange Salad with Poppy Seed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This salad is phenomenal!! Even my teenagers and their friends loved it! I have since made the dressing 3 times and it will always be a staple in my refrigerator from now on. FANTASTIC!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Reduced sugar to 1/2 C and only added less than 1/4 red onion. We loved it and it's a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Absolutely scrumptious! I roasted pine nuts and substituted for the slivered almonds (because it was what I had on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
O my goodness. I read other reviews that complained about the onion and thought they must either not like onion or didn't know how to choose a sweet one. This has too much! The flavors were nice otherwise. If I make it again, I will definitely cut the onion by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie
Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I am rating the dressing portion of this recipe only, although I'm sure the salad with this dressing on it would still be five stars! I made half the recipe of dressing, cutting the sugar back to 1/4 cup, as other reviewers suggested, and I used about 1 T. of finely minced sweet onion instead of the red onion. I had an apple that had been hanging around way too long and a few dried cranberries left in the bag, so I added those to red leaf lettuce, chopped green onion and toasted almonds for a marvelous salad that hubby and I both really liked. I'll be making this dressing again for sure!! Here's a little tip that I've used many times since I like to do as much ahead of time as possible. Chop apple and toss in a little of the dressing making sure to coat well, then refrigerate until ready to toss the salad. This keeps the apples from turning brown - works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This salad is gorgeous, and quickly becoming one of my favorite salad recipes from this site! All the ingredients' flavors and textures go together beautifully. I didn't have a red onion, so I used a white onion and it resulted in this really pretty white dressing. I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, it was plenty. I highly recommend this salad and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is the same dressing as I use but we add diced apple, diced swiss cheese, craisins and sometimes cashews. I decreased the sugar too, way too sweet. Everyone always wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This review is for the dressing only. I make the dressing frequently, but with some changes. I use much less onion (approximately 1 tablespoon of chopped onion, and I use the pre-chopped onions you can find frozen in a bag). Instead of dry mustard powder, I use 1 teaspoon of dijon mustard. I omit the salt. Sometimes I add the poppy seeds, and sometimes I omit them. I make the dressing in my food processor and it turns out creamy and delicious. Everyone loves it. My favorite salad to use it on is butter and red leaf lettuce with chopped Granny Smith apples, grated Swiss cheese, and toasted sliced almonds. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
My breath still stinks......way too much onion. Basing my rating on on just the dressng, everything else was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I loved this salad. The dressing is what really makes it, though. It's very sweet and tangy. The only change I made was that I cut the sugar in half. It was still plenty sweet. I can't wait to try the dressing on other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States