Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Love this recipe. It was super easy and I used my hands to mix it as I don't have a stand mixer...... it worked really well. Not sure about it's tastes was using it more for decorating, going to try a little flavour in the water next time and see how it tastes then right now it just taste like sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsJameson
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was so easy in my kitchen aid and so easy t work with and to make different colors that my three year old son helped me! I will be using this many times this year as i cannot wait to practice my technique! Yay for fancy decorating! I used this over a whole wheat applesauce cake, and next time i think i will add different extracts to make it different flavors! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I used it to make a birthday cake for my sister and it came out perfectly! This was my first time ever making homemade fondant and only my second time ever using fondant. It actually tastes good, too, unlike the store bought kind I got last time. It was easy to make colorful by kneading in pretty food dye, so the flowers on the cake came out lovely. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
this has been a wonderful recipe for me. i began making decorator cakes more than a year and a half ago. this is the recipe i began with and have tweeked until i have something that is wonderful to work with and has a fantastic flavor. experiment, add some glycerin, some tylose powder and some flavors. the glycerin will give you a longer working time with it and the tylose will give it a stronger, better consistency. if you add larger amounts of tylose you'll be able to use it to make cutouts and figures. people complain about the flavor of fondant and by adding flavors you get an end product that most people will eat and i get comments all the time about how they heard fondant tasted bad, but this was great! my go too are vanilla and butter, lorann brand is worth the extra cost & you don't have to use a lot. you can also use lorann oils, just a drop or two and get a huge range of flavors. wrap this tightly in two layers of plastic wrap and put it in a gallon zip lock and remove all the air. you can leave it on the counter or in the fridge. it will last at least a month, or you can freeze it, keep it wrapped until it's thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I also used this recipe and oh my was it perfect! This was my first attemp ever t homeade fondant and i could not have asked for anything better! I would recommend you have a large enough bowl to mix it in, specially if you are making a double recipe for a tiered cake; but it tuned out perfect. I also used a clear butter flavor for taste value, again, perfect! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Love this recipe! I did find it a bit sticky and hard to work with even after letting it cool to room temp, but then I lightly dusted my hands with cornstarch and it was great!It stretches well, doesn't crack, and smoothed out easily. This was the third recipe that I tried, and I was ready to give up and cry. Third time's a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This fondant was absolutely perfect! It tasted great, rolled out very well, and also keeps well in the fridge; definitely a recipe worth keeping! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaufresBrules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
it's great.. it was my second attemp, when the first recipe i found somewhere else. no need to worry about cornsyrup, i dont have it on hand, and no time to go, i just use the cara,el syrup, and it was turn great thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very easy... I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I tried this and my fondant stuck straight onto the counter. I asked someone who makes cakes and she said to use confectioner's sugar, not cornstarch to powder the surface. I had to trash an entire batch because of the cornstarch :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States