Rolling Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by monilandthomas
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made two batches of this to make a two-tiered birthday cake. Each tier was three layers. Had plenty on fondant to cover and decorate with plus it tastes GREAT! I used to use a different recipe but this is now my number one recipe. I didn't have any problems with stickiness or excessive tearing. I was surprised that with both oil and shortening in the recipe that it wasn't greasy either. I also rolled out my fondant on Saran Wrap to make transferring to my cakes easier. Worked like charm since I couldn't spring for a fondant mat and had forgotten to get cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was pretty good for my first time making fondant. Putting the ingredients together was not hard, the first time I wasn't paying attention and I completely messed up the measurements and had to start over, but once it was finished the texture was pretty good. I used dark corn syrup and it did not affect the color. Although, I would definitely advise using powdered sugar instead of corn starch to avoid sticking. The hardest part was rolling it so it wouldn't be too thin and tear, but I think this will get easier with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Wow! So easy to make and fun to work with once you use plenty cornstarch to prevent sticking. I used 2 lb sugar because that's how the bags are even though that should be a little less than the amount required. It was perfect. First time ever making fondant and using it too, I followed instructions exactly, used paddle attachment in stand mixer, it was a lot of work for my poor mixer tough. I then gathered into a ball and dusted with cornstarch and wrapped in plastic wrap to place in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
It worked out great!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
First time using fondant and first time making it. We only had 4 cups of powdered sugar (the package was only 32oz) and I ended up having to add another 1/4 cup of water and package of gelatin. But everything came together after that. Also we added a bit of vanilla extract. Tastes delicious! BTW: I do not have a mixer. I mixed it all by hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and this is the first time I have done this and it hasn't turned out. It was too dry, kept cracking and wouldn't hold together. I had to throw it all out. Was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Super easy! Thanks for a great recipe. Made if perfect on my first try. It was so much fun to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
looks awesome but can somebody tell me if for the gelatin are you suppost to use gelatin powder of the made product of gelatin. please tell me if you know thankx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I'm making my stepson's bday cake at the end of the month and am going to attempt to use fondant, so I wanted to try to work with it first before I started his cake. I thought I would try this recipe as it had pretty good reviews. I don't know if I did something wrong but this just didn't work for me. It tasted pretty good, but it didn't seem to matter what I did, I could not work with it without it cracking and tearing. I tried adding a little water, more shortening, rolling out on corn starch, icing sugar, shortening.... I ended up running out and buying fondant which was WAY easier to work with. I was able to use this fondant for smaller cut out pieces, but there was no way it was going to work to cover a cake. Maybe someday I will try making fondant again, but in the meantime I think I'll stick to buying it. Most people I've seen don't eat it anyway, even the homemade stuff (which is really sweet), so I think for now I'll save the frustration and buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Awesome Recipe. Thank You Coryb, your comments were really helpful. my first attempt was successful, but like others i didn't get all 8 cups of sugar in. i mixed it like dough eventually like Samantha mentioned and got as much in as i could. it was awesome, but i needed it to be black for my son's Cubscout cake contest. so i created a second batch using dough hooks on my hand mixer. that worked out great. i put food color, maple flavor and butter flavor in the water/shortening/oil/cornsyrup mixture and that worked out well. the fondant is really tasty and black. Coryb's comments of using shortening to handle it was a great idea. i put the ball on a wax paper, rolled out the fondant with a regular rolling pin, put it quickly in the freezer to set it so i could turn it over onto my cake. Fantastic stuff. you guys are working hard to make me an expert. Thanks for everyone's comments. DShane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States