Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2001
The reviewer that stated the powdered sugar wasn't sufficient was because they substituted EQUAL amounts of corn syrup for glucose which is incorrect. Corn syrup contains a higher % of water than glucose and less water should be used in the recipe if substituting - 3 TBLS instead of 1/4 cup water in this case (or the corn syrup can be heated to concentrate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
730 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam fores
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I think i did well on this recipe as a first timer. But I really got tired of kneading it manually, i transfered it to a bread kneader...a stand mixer using the dough hook attachment and it came out soft & pliable after adding 1/3 c. of water because it came out dry and stiff. The instructions didn't say what to do if your rolled fondant got stucked on the table and can't be transferred on the cake. I have to figured it out myself like using a mat or oiling the surface with shortening so fondant will won't get sticky. Overall it's a good recipe and I'm going to used this on my cakes from now on. ***By the way, best to work on your rolled fondant on the same day as its still soft and more manageable. I noticed putting it inside airtight container in ref and bringing it to room temprature the following day makes the fondant sticky again and difficult to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I used this recipe to make a stacked 3 tier wedding cake. It was easy to make and was tastier than other rolled fondants I have tasted - especially the boxed stuff. I substitued the glucose for corn syrup, and used only 3tbsp. of water. If you want your fondant to turn out white, you should use white vanilla extract and white corn syrup which you can find at any grocery store. I had a tough time finding glycerine but found it at a Bulk Barn (in Toronto).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I have been making 3D cakes for a couple of years now and have wanted to use a "wrap" frosting, but have been deterred by fears of ease of prep and taste ("Chalk" is the term I heard most). This is an EXCELLENT recipe and is not a hard one to make...just time consuming. Another hint I've heard is that you can use kayro syrup in place of glucose - would save on the pocket book! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meiling206
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
My first time using fondant and it didn't turn out too bad. I used corn syrup in place of glucose and it turned out fine, first batch I ended up using more powdered sugar. Second batch I used a reviewers recommendations and used 3 Tbsp water with the corn syrup and it was a bit better. I made my fiance' a nintendo cake for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Loved it! Taste great. The only thing is it HAD to be a 100+ degree day here so I had a heck of a time with it. I added a ton of extra sugar and it was still sticky (thanks to the humidity). Luckily, I have a fondant mat so what I ended up having to do is put a *very* small amount of Crisco onto the mat. I then roll the fondant to size needed, and I flipped the whole mat with the fondant on it onto the cake and gently peeled the fondant off. I submitted a picture of the cake. It was beautiful! I will definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Easy to make but needed much more powdered sugar. It was beautiful on the cake too. I used corn syrup instead of the glucose which is a nice substitution. Any flavoring can be added too. What a nice and easy way to have smooth, flawless frosting for a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I really, really like this recipe. My children helped and simple didn't won't to stop working with it. My daughter said, "This is clay I would like to play with and eat." We flavored it with banana flavoring and the smell was awesome. I wish I was able to download a picture of what we've just done. We're all fist timers for scratch fondant. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I'm not an expert, but this was a Fiasco!!! I followed the instructions step by step. The texture was good, so was the taste, but when I tried to roll it, it was imposible. It kept sticking to the top. I tried using powdered sugar to prevent the sticking, then it turn out too dry and it was not smooth anymore. Thank God I had some Wilton Brand on hand and was able to finish the cake. No problems whatsoever with the Wilton. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Try making it either without vanilla or using a clear vanilla for a pure white fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States