Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I have been making 3D cakes for a couple of years now and have wanted to use a "wrap" frosting, but have been deterred by fears of ease of prep and taste ("Chalk" is the term I heard most). This is an EXCELLENT recipe and is not a hard one to make...just time consuming. Another hint I've heard is that you can use kayro syrup in place of glucose - would save on the pocket book! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Easy to make but needed much more powdered sugar. It was beautiful on the cake too. I used corn syrup instead of the glucose which is a nice substitution. Any flavoring can be added too. What a nice and easy way to have smooth, flawless frosting for a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
The reviewer that stated the powdered sugar wasn't sufficient was because they substituted EQUAL amounts of corn syrup for glucose which is incorrect. Corn syrup contains a higher % of water than glucose and less water should be used in the recipe if substituting - 3 TBLS instead of 1/4 cup water in this case (or the corn syrup can be heated to concentrate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
733 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Try making it either without vanilla or using a clear vanilla for a pure white fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
I used this recipe to make a stacked 3 tier wedding cake. It was easy to make and was tastier than other rolled fondants I have tasted - especially the boxed stuff. I substitued the glucose for corn syrup, and used only 3tbsp. of water. If you want your fondant to turn out white, you should use white vanilla extract and white corn syrup which you can find at any grocery store. I had a tough time finding glycerine but found it at a Bulk Barn (in Toronto).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Very easy to follow and the cake looked like made by pros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I'm not an expert, but this was a Fiasco!!! I followed the instructions step by step. The texture was good, so was the taste, but when I tried to roll it, it was imposible. It kept sticking to the top. I tried using powdered sugar to prevent the sticking, then it turn out too dry and it was not smooth anymore. Thank God I had some Wilton Brand on hand and was able to finish the cake. No problems whatsoever with the Wilton. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I was surprised how simple this was to make. Used corn syrup and the recommended 3 TB cold water and the consistency was fine. Really great, will be fun to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening and the flavour was great. I didn't feel that it affected the colour, especially when paste food colourings were added. I never worked with fondant before, but this was easy (and fun!) to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was a great fondant recipe. Very easy to follow. Since it was my first time making it, I did make a little bit of a mess. I think I used my hands in mixing the fondant to early in the process. Tast and texture was good for fondant. I used clear vanilla extract to keep the fondant white. I did find that it didnt keep well once refridgerated and brought back to room temperature it was hard to work with and fell apart it became to coarse. I could have overworked it though. Great recipe overall would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States