Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I can't get over how well this worked! My cake was beautiful, and delicious! I've never made any elaborate kind of cake before, and I've never eaten rolled fondant before (let alone worked with or made it) so I couldn't compare. But some of my guinea pigs (er... guests) had and they said it tasted far better than the kind you buy. It was a lot of work, but I followed the directions and it went perfectly! Thank you so so much! For the recipe, and also to the other reviewers! I wouldn't have even attempted this project without the assurance from you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
My fondant came out a little too dry, so I would use less sugar next time. But it definitely tasted better than the stuff you get from the store. My husband loved it and kept eating it by it self. I did have problems with it cracking after refrigerating it but a bit of water took care of that. Overall lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpeedySanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and got double the fondant for half the price of the boxed stuff... AND PEOPLE WILL ACTUALLY EAT THIS FONDANT! If you've worked with boxed fondant, use this recipe- it rolled, tinted and decorated so smoothly and easily, and tastes very good when flavored with extract. I've recommended it to other cake friends, and we'll all hooked- thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Disbrow Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATIETOD
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was extremely easy to make-- I made it all in one bowl using a pyrex heat-proof bowl as my double boiler. I also substituted corn syrup for the glucose. Best part of all: it tastes great. This will definitely be my go-to fondant recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Very simple to make...and tastes so much better than Wilton's packaged fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeadHeaded
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Sounds funny but I used my bread machine on the dough setting to do all the kneading, lol. I didn't change in any way, just used the Wilton gels to add different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this fondant on a very humid day and had no problems and did not need to make any adjustments. It rolled perfectly and is a very nice consistancy. It does not get shiny like many other home-made versions of fondant. I did substitute exact proportions of karo syrup for the glucose syrup since I had it one hand. I will add a different extract to add more flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This would have been good if we had no humidity! It was way to sticky and would break apart when rolling even with using more powdered sugar. Ended up and had to scrap the entire batch to buy the already made fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Taste nice but it's too sticky to roll. I used lots of confectionary sugar thus spoiling the perfect taste, ended up being too sweet. And in this humid weather, the fondant constantly looked sticky and glossy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I had trouble rolling this to cover a 12 inch round by 4 inch high cake. So I scratched that idea and used this to make all the decorations. The fondant is easy to work with but I would suggest using a smaller cake or make sure you have absoutley zero humidity when you attempt. I flavored with lemon and raspberry extract so it would taste like skittles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States