Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by amphiktere
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent fondant! My typical recipe is the Marshmallow Fondant (also found here on Allrecipes), but I had a friend who wanted just regular fondant.. so, I made this recipe. I have made it twice now and both times it turned out wonderfully! I follow the recipe exactly as written.. I do use glucose syrup. I was able to find that and the glycerin at Michaels or Hobby Lobby. I used Wilton clear vanilla extract to ensure my fondant was bright white rather than off white. Excellent recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amphiktere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Wow! Easy, beautiful and so much better than the junk on the craft store shelves. I added my coloring slowly and early on in the process and got the color just right. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made yesterday this recipe, and it did turn out pretty good. i did try other recipes, and i almost quit the art of fondant maming. Thx for the recipe. the dough came out soft and pretty firm(though not firm enough---i think). i added all the sugar required and i let it sit for 6 hours on the counter. I had to sprinkle maybe one more cup ofpowdered sugar to be able to roll it out, in oreder to prevent it from sticking on the counter. It had some small(tiny--)cracks when I put the fondant on the cake. I did fix it with rubbing shortenning. Since I am a beginner in fondant, my question is: Should I have added more sugar when rolled the fondant, or should i had to grease the counter and rolling pin with shortenning only? I have no idea which one is better. I found that the crackings are due to the sugar added when kneading in color and rolling, but maybe I am wrong. And one more question please: It seems that the icing sugar is not melting completely, u can feel the sugar when bitting into the fondant. Some friend(lab rats for my cakes) told me that u r not suppossed to feel the texture of sugar when bitting into fondant. Thx a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda_74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arad, Arad, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This recipe is identical to the one from the Wilton yearbook...I give it five stars because the Wilton one worked out, so this one would too. I used the gel food colouring instead of liquid for more accurate colouring...added while kneading the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Lovely professional finish! This was the first fondant I attempted making from scratch. It came out a little dry the first time and cracked. So now I only add 4 cups of confectioners sugar. I also only color once I have kneaded. It tastes nice for a plain fondant. I found that doubling the mixture doesn't turn out perfectly so I make and remake. It is tiring and time consuming kneading it so prepare it a little earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ipops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liss
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This was the first time I ever made or used fondant. I found this recipe very easy to make and use. I changed the amount of water to 3tbsp and only used about 6 1/2 cups of sugar. It kept nicely in the fridge overnight and was very pliable when I rolled it out. I did need to crisco the board I was rolling on to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Way easier than I truly thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My 12-year-old daughter and her 12-year-old friend made this last night and it worked great! Not only that but it tastes good, too!! We used light corn syrup as our "glucose" and found the glycerin at Michael's. I didn't help the girls at all, so am very impressed with how well they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Wow that was a lot easier than the cooked kind. Thanks for the recipe. Will be putting fondant on my cakes a little more often now. Added strawberry extract because the color is clear. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I'm not sure where I went wrong with this recipe but it did not work at all for covering the cake. It kept cracking while I was working with it and also when I tried to roll it out. I was able to make roses with some of it but it became too frustrating and I eventually just threw the batch out and went and bought some pre-made from Walmart. I was very dissappointed in myself since I know it had to have been something I did considering all the great reviews this fondant received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyDeBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States