Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe, easy to follow, very easy to manipulate. I subbed with Corn syrup, turned out just as good. I also used peppermint flavouring instead of vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Fantastic fondant! Taste great and was easy to work with. This was my first time working with fondant and I was worried that it would be difficult. I almost bought glucose at Michael's for $4.99 and then looked at the one ingredient: corn syrup. I decided to use corn syrup instead. I used six cups of sugar to start with and then added more as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamina
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It was my first fondant cake and I loved it. My husband whos is very picky loved it too. I followed the advice given by the reviewrs and the results were great. I was just disappointed that some lifted the fondant and ate the cake! I guess there are people who dont like fondant anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is a very easy and no-fuss recipe! I didn't use all of the confectioners' sugar but that was the only modification from the actual recipe. Be careful not to knead for too long as the fondant will begin to crack - just add water a few drops at a time to take care of cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good recipe for fondant. It's very easy to work with. I used exact ingredients but did have to put more sugar but it turned out very well. Nice texture and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funnyfairy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yangon, Yangon Division, Myanmar
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I would NOT recommend this for a beginner. I've been decorating for 20 years with buttercream, this was my first foray into fondant and this was the wrong recipe for me. It was extremely hard to work with, either too sticky or when it would be less sticky, it would fall apart if you got it thin enough to work as a drape. It was okay for making flowers, but again, not as thin as I would like, because when thin they would fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I've recently taken up cake decorating and the first thing i wanted was a good fondant recipe. The first time i made this, it was absolutely horrendously awful, but that was mostly my fault and lack of experience. The second time i made it, it was manageable though still a challenge. Today I made my third cake with this fondant recipe, and it was a dream to work with. With a little practice and hard work and determination, this recipe is very dependable. Note for inexperienced bakers: its easier to roll out and knead if you put it in the microwave for about 15 seconds every so often. Also, even though it's more work, the texture is better if you knead in all the confectioner's sugar yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nazanin
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I wish I could give this 10 stars. I had never made a fondant before. I made this yesterday for a baby shower cake and wow! It was easy to make and rolled out so easy that I couldn't believe. It was so pliable and soft that couldn't believe. Everyone at the party told me that I was a pro and that I should open a bakery. The fondant didn't crack or tear at all. I used pineapple juice instead of vanilla for the flavor because I don't like vanilla. Awesome. I don't know how to thank you for this recipe. I will post the pictures of the cake here. Some tips: I greased the rolling surface with shortening and dusted it with icing sugar. As I was kneading the fondant, coloring it or playing with it, I kept greasing my hand with shortening. When the fondant was too stiff, I soaked my hands in water and it worked well. I think you should have a bowl of icing sugar, 2-3 spoonfuls of shortening and some water by your hand as you are working with this fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
AMAZING!!! my first time EVER making fondant and it was so easy and turned out perfect, I too used white corn syrup and only 3tb of water, also I added almond extract instead of vanilla. I am still amazed I made this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was a pretty simple recipe and the fondant was easy to work with. I had all the ingredients except the glucose and glycerin. I used corn syrup and only 2-3 TBL water. Worked great and I had no problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States