Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I was very pleased with how this turned out. I used it to decorate my second batch of petit fours, and it looked fantastic. I was a little concerned with the first little cake I did, the fondant didn't seem to want to sit right on it. I had a little extra buttercream frosting left over from the filling, and used it to sort of bond the fondant to the cake. Extremely tasty, easy to make and use, will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meiling206
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
My first time using fondant and it didn't turn out too bad. I used corn syrup in place of glucose and it turned out fine, first batch I ended up using more powdered sugar. Second batch I used a reviewers recommendations and used 3 Tbsp water with the corn syrup and it was a bit better. I made my fiance' a nintendo cake for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I tried this recipe for the first time to make a Mother's day cake. It was time consuming, but fairly easy to do. Having the correct tools (smoothing tool, fondant roller) made the process much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam fores
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I think i did well on this recipe as a first timer. But I really got tired of kneading it manually, i transfered it to a bread kneader...a stand mixer using the dough hook attachment and it came out soft & pliable after adding 1/3 c. of water because it came out dry and stiff. The instructions didn't say what to do if your rolled fondant got stucked on the table and can't be transferred on the cake. I have to figured it out myself like using a mat or oiling the surface with shortening so fondant will won't get sticky. Overall it's a good recipe and I'm going to used this on my cakes from now on. ***By the way, best to work on your rolled fondant on the same day as its still soft and more manageable. I noticed putting it inside airtight container in ref and bringing it to room temprature the following day makes the fondant sticky again and difficult to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
383 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam fores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacolod City, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I really, really like this recipe. My children helped and simple didn't won't to stop working with it. My daughter said, "This is clay I would like to play with and eat." We flavored it with banana flavoring and the smell was awesome. I wish I was able to download a picture of what we've just done. We're all fist timers for scratch fondant. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Loved it! Taste great. The only thing is it HAD to be a 100+ degree day here so I had a heck of a time with it. I added a ton of extra sugar and it was still sticky (thanks to the humidity). Luckily, I have a fondant mat so what I ended up having to do is put a *very* small amount of Crisco onto the mat. I then roll the fondant to size needed, and I flipped the whole mat with the fondant on it onto the cake and gently peeled the fondant off. I submitted a picture of the cake. It was beautiful! I will definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Easy to follow directions. Result is as expected or better. Highly recommend this rolled fondant recipe for texture, pliabilitiy, result, and reliability.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was a great fondant recipe. Very easy to follow. Since it was my first time making it, I did make a little bit of a mess. I think I used my hands in mixing the fondant to early in the process. Tast and texture was good for fondant. I used clear vanilla extract to keep the fondant white. I did find that it didnt keep well once refridgerated and brought back to room temperature it was hard to work with and fell apart it became to coarse. I could have overworked it though. Great recipe overall would recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used butter instead of shortening and the flavour was great. I didn't feel that it affected the colour, especially when paste food colourings were added. I never worked with fondant before, but this was easy (and fun!) to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I was surprised how simple this was to make. Used corn syrup and the recommended 3 TB cold water and the consistency was fine. Really great, will be fun to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States