Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe. This was my fist time "making" fondant instead of buying it. I also used the corn sytup with 3 Tablespoons of water and it worked great. The only thing that I would suggest is to make and use it on the same day. I put mine in a ziploc bag in the fridge to store it. I tried to roll it out the next next day and is was very difficult. I left it out at room temp for 5 hours waitting for it to get soft It never happed. Oh well my mistake now I know. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megan441
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was my first time working with fondant and it went really well. I used a kitchen aid mixer as suggested, and I also substituted corn syrup for glucose. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan441
Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
All you have to do is sprinkle a LITTLE cornstarch on your table to make it not stick. Not a lot or the fondant wont have the soft look it is suppose to have. This is a good recipe, it turned out great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
WOW! I loved this fondant! It was the funnest to make, and a very good taste! I substituted corn syrup for the glucose, and it turned out good, and I also used Almond Extract for the Vanilla (taste wise). Very good! Now people ask me to make more cakes like this! THANK YOU!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I tried all kinds of Fondant and still hate it. Its just TOO sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
this recipe was so simple to follow, and the fondant turned out GREAT! i did as the recipe instructed - starting off with just half of the sugar and slowly adding the remainder. I didnt end up using all of the sugar. I would just add until I felt i had the right consistency and then stopped. I left it a little sticky to the touch because I knew I would be adding sugar everytime I rolled it out. I tried several different recipes which were all a disaster. This one was by far the easiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pang Xiong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NIKKEL
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe is amazing! I had tried one other fondant before, and thought it was good, but it was nothing compared to this one. I will be using this recipe from here on. I subbed light corn syrup and used the 3T water as another reviewer suggested, and it worked perfectly. This recipe will require a lot of kneading and it gets very stiff, so be prepared to either put a lot of time and muscle into it, or set up your bread machine or kitchenaid. To keep it from sticking to the table, I sprinkled powdered sugar on the table, and onto the rolling pin. Once draped over the cake, I lightly "buffed" it with the palm of my hand to take away the sugar, and then I ran a damp paper towel all over the surface to remove the rest of the sugar residue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Excellent reciepe. I tried it today and it worked well. Great work. Thanks Martha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was fantastic. Excellent!It came out perfectly-exactly like the one displayed at cake stores. I can't believe it, I did it as a first timer. I will definitely be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nhaidz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This was my first attempt at fondant. I made it using my kitchenaid stand mixer. It was a little rough on my kitchenaid (but it gladly took the task), but turned out great. Just make sure you use your dough hook and no other attachment. I would suggest [if its your first time attempting fondant] to try rolling it onto a smaller cake, or possibly petit fours until you get the hang of it. I did make a tear while transfering it to a 9' round layered cake, but was able to correct it after a little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States