Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Excellent recipe for a good tasting fondant.Made a bridal shower cake & it rolled out really well. I used my Kitchenaid mixer and then kneaded it on the counter until smooth.Stored fondant in plastic wrap in a ziplock bag. I used corn syrup with the water like other reviewers and it turned out fine. Thanks for posting this receipe. It's a keeper for me. Many compliments from guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This is a really good recipe. It is much easier than other ones I have seen and it comes out the same. It was fun to make and work with, but very sweet to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
looked nice on the cake but was very sticky and could not solve the problem but just kept adding sugar and dealt with the problem. hobby lobby has glycerin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dollar
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is AWESOME!!! I wanted to do something special for my daughters' 2nd birthday and this was it! I would recommend if you have a bread machine, clean it out and use it on the dough setting to give this fondant a good knead. It has an excellent consistence and rolled out AMAZING, this was my first time using ANY fondant. I couldn't find glycerin to use so I just added 1TBS vegetable oil and it worked great and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aubrey
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe! I did sub some things. I didn't have gelatin so I used two table spoons of corn starch instead. I also used corn syrup and didn't use glycerin. On the suggestion of another reviewer, I used one teaspoon of almond extract in lieu of vanilla and it really added something to the taste! Great. Don't use too much powdered sugar or it will crack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I made this with a 13 year old, 9 year old, and 4 year old and it was great. We got powdered sugar EVERYWHERE! But the recipe was amazing and was easier to work with than I orginially expected. This tasted MUCH better than any other fontant I've tasted. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah
Home Town: Akureyri, Norðurland Eystra, Iceland
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I loved this recipe! This was my first experience making and even tasting fondant, and it couldn't have gone better! Just a few tips: -If the fondant is too dry, rather than adding water, it helps to put it in the microwave for a few seconds (5-10). -Fondant will keep (wrapped) for a month or two at room temperature. Refrigerating it will dry it and it wont work nearly as well the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Wow. This is a great recipe. I tried the Wilton boxed stuff and it tastes like Play doh, but this is more like it. Easy enough but you do need to use some muscle to get it nicely mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I love this recipe! its easy to work with and tastes great! i took the idea of using 3 TBSP of water and corn syrup instead of the gluclose.. i found that using just vanilla extract was way to sweet.. i add 1 tsp vanilla and another teaspoon of imitation butter extract! people complement me on the taste of the fondant! its nice you can use any flavoring .. i stick with the vanilla/almond/butter/coconut.. these seem to go with most cake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Perfect! Wasn't greasy and was quite easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States