Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by monica
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
this was my first time making fondant. i tried MM fondant first but really didn't like the process. this recipe seemed better to me. i followed the tip to sub corn syrup instead of glucose. i did sub almond extract instead of the vanilla. my fondant looked great and tasted great! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fellicia R
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was my first time making and working with fondant. I substituted corn syrup for the glucose and vegetable oil for the glycerin and it still came out fine. I used the Wilton food coloring gel to tint it (make sure to use gloves unless you want your hands stained). Not the greatest taste but you're not supposed to eat the fondant anyways. I'll definitely be using this recipe again. Update: I forgot to mention that I think the reason my fondant came out looking cracked is that I kept adding more cornstarch and powdered sugar when it stuck to my hands. Next time I'm going to lather my hands in butter, I think that should help and make it not so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fellicia R

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reich85
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
best fondant recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reich85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Excellent consistency and flavour. I used this for my sister's wedding cake and it was a hit with all 100 guests! It's much better than the Wilton fondant - and much easier to color and roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
The best fondant recipe that I've found so far! Easy to make and use (only if you use it right away) I used pure vanilla extract and the fondant still turned out white as I hoped. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a good recipe for fondant. I thought it tasted ok it was sweet of course but really easy to make and easy to use once you get the right texture. Another review helped by saying to use the bread hook on your mixer that is an excellent tip. You just keep adding powdered sugar until its like play dough. I made some cute cakes with it! I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
A tip for rolling out fondant is to use parchment paper generously coated in corn starch. For easy transfer to your cake, dust off the corn starch with a pasrty brush and then gently wrap it around your rolling pin like you would with pie crust. This recipe always works great for me and I live in a VERY humid climate where you have to use fondant on every cake because any type of buttercream would melt as soon as you stepped outside! I have tried a few different MM Fondant recipes in the past and I had NO luck with them. Fondant is hard to get where I live so I am sooo glad I was finally able to find a recipe that works really well! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This was a great recipe. For those of you who are having problems with your fondant sticking make sure you use CORNSTARCH!! don't just slap it on the table and start using your rolling pin and expecting it not to stick. Use cornstarch liberally and it wont stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Alcenius

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was fun! My teenaged daughter talked me into trying this for our littlest girl's birthday cake. I was a little afraid. We followed the recipe exactly and had good results. It was a little tricky to cover our three layer cake. We rolled it out on greased wax paper to help the transfer. But over all it was fairly easy. We think a fondant mat would be great! Remember that frosting will help fondant stick. If we had not planned on putting fondant cut-out duckies on it, it would have looked a little amateurish. But they covered any mistakes we had. It tasted really great and we dyed it with paste food coloring to make our cut-outs. Everyone raved about the cake! We will be doing it again with a mat and think we will have a professional looking cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I followed the instructions to the letter and this did not turn out for me. I did not care for the taste. I was extremely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States