Rolled Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
could you please help me out, i need the quantity of gelatin used in this recipe in grams.thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I followed this word for word and I used less water and 12 cups of confectioners sugar and it was still soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have never made fondant before but this stuff was perfect! The only change I made was to use corn syrup in place of glucose syrup because I didn't have any. Everything else was the same. I mixed it initially with my KA hand mixer and finished up using a wooden spoon. Kneaded it for a while adding powdered sugar as I went along. It was easy to roll and it tasted much better than the store bought kind. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I am sure it was user error, but this was impossible for me to use without cracking. I think I'll be sticking with traditional buttercream because it was just too hard to eat on the cake. Was tasty though on it's own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and found that more powdered sugar was needed. When I tried rolling it out on the mat it was sticking and so then I sprinkled corn starch on the mat to prevent the sticking - this made the fondant keep cracking while I was rolling and it was really hard to roll and put on top of my cake :) Any suggestions what to do when it sticks to the mat? I suppose corn starch was not the correct idea? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mgsavage
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Worked well..I subbed the glucose with corn syrup and 3 tbsp water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! I didn't need the whole 8 cups of sugar, used only 6. Excluded the vanilla from the recipe and used almond extract instead. Made my own syrup using 1/4 cup of water and 1/2 cup of sugar, on medium heat and brought them to a boil, then left to cool. Other than this, followed the exact directions and ingredient quantities in the recipe, and it turned out beautiful. I also used gel colors to color the fondant. Thanks and way to go, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
i really liked this recipe it was easy and came out great. by the way instead of using a double boiler i simply microwaved it for 30 seconds and it came out fine(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silentturnip
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Tastes good and easy to work with!! When my fondant seems to be too dry to work with, I rub my hands with shortening and kneed it in. Makes it easy to work with and gives it a shiny look. I've read reviews on substituting corn syrup for the glucose so would just like to comment that I only had 1/4 c of glucose and used 1/4 c of corn syrup and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I have used this fondant many times. I replace the glucose syrup with 9 table spoons of light corn syrup and add about 1/2 cups more of powdered sugar. Rolls out soft and it is easy to color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States