Rolled Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious dumplings. I recommend rolling them out as thin as possible (around 1/8" or less) before cutting, or they will be too heavy. Rolling them out 1/16"-1/8" gives you a light, noodle-like dumpling. These are NOT the puffy, biscuit dumplings. These are dense and taste more like homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Almost like Grandma used to make! She never measured anything, so her recipe is hard to follow. I made half a batch, except I used the full 1/2 cup milk. No problems rolling out. Mixed them up in my Little Oskar food processor. Definitely need to roll them thin. They were very good and I wanted more, but a half batch was plenty for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious. I used this dumpling with my leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I put a little of my leftover gravy in the stock. It made a thick yummy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Unbelievable...just like moms! I tried this recipe about 2 weeks ago with some chicken broth that I had made from left-over roasted chicken. My 76 year old mom came to dinner and raved about how the dumplings were better than her aunt's. Last week I still had some of the chicken broth (with plenty of chicken in it) in the freezer and was hungry about 10 PM:) I didn't have any shortening so I substituted with 1/4 cup of bacon fat (I always keep left-over bacon fat in a cup in the fridge after I cook it)...it turned out "OFF THE HOOK!". The extra flavor from the bacon fat added another dimension! I don't understand why people say that cooking can be so difficult. My secret is to cook a big piece of meat on Sunday (Chicken, beef, pork shoulder, etc.), then I have plenty of left-overs the rest of the week to be creative and fast with meals for my husband (tacos, enchiladas, pot-pies, soups, etc.). Get the major cooking out of the way with a big piece of meat on a not so busy day and the possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this as written and found it too salty for my taste. I also had trouble with getting the dough to stick together but that's probably my lack of "dumpling" skill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XASTIEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My daughter and I had a great time making these. They are so simple. We had butter flavored shortening, added some cracked pepper and onion powder. Delicious! They need to be cut thin if you want a noodle -like dumpling ( as she states, 1/8"). We are originally from the North so we don't mind the thicker 'dumpling'. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. We were on a Sunday cooking roll!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These dumplings cooked well and tasted great, but they were kind of heavy even though I rolled them out thinly. What could I do next time to make them fluffier inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wonderfully delicious! I have tried other recipes from this site and I believe I have found my favorite recipe. After reading another reviewers comment about being too salty, I only added 1/2 tsp and they were great. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I thought this recipe was spot on. It doubled easily too. I boiled three chicken breasts, with onions, peas and carrots in 2 quarts of chicken stock before adding the dumplings. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times now, and one thing that I don't like is that after 8-10 minutes the dumplings are still raw in the middle. It takes almost an hour for them to cook all the way through, and I do roll them thin. The flavor and texture are good after cooking, but they aren't close to done after 10 minutes. The other negative is the shortening. Nothing but hydrogenated oils. I will need to try it with butter, or even regular oil and see if it turns out. This recipe is a great starter, but not a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Low-Carb Jambalaya

See how to make a tasty, meat-filled jambalaya without all the carbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States