Rolled Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Always use this, I change it up depending on what I have or feel like but this is great place to start and or use as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoflorida

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I've made the dumplings from this website a least 100 times over the last few years. Okay, not really 100, but quite a few. They've turned out great EVERY single time! I've only made a few changes. I double, or triple the recipe. I don't sprikle the dumplings lightly with flour, I coat liberally with flour which helps thicken the broth. I also usually add a whole chicken or a few chicken breasts. I use a few spoonfuls of Better than Boullion chicken flavoring to enhance the flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious dumplings. I recommend rolling them out as thin as possible (around 1/8" or less) before cutting, or they will be too heavy. Rolling them out 1/16"-1/8" gives you a light, noodle-like dumpling. These are NOT the puffy, biscuit dumplings. These are dense and taste more like homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Almost like Grandma used to make! She never measured anything, so her recipe is hard to follow. I made half a batch, except I used the full 1/2 cup milk. No problems rolling out. Mixed them up in my Little Oskar food processor. Definitely need to roll them thin. They were very good and I wanted more, but a half batch was plenty for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious. I used this dumpling with my leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I put a little of my leftover gravy in the stock. It made a thick yummy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Unbelievable...just like moms! I tried this recipe about 2 weeks ago with some chicken broth that I had made from left-over roasted chicken. My 76 year old mom came to dinner and raved about how the dumplings were better than her aunt's. Last week I still had some of the chicken broth (with plenty of chicken in it) in the freezer and was hungry about 10 PM:) I didn't have any shortening so I substituted with 1/4 cup of bacon fat (I always keep left-over bacon fat in a cup in the fridge after I cook it)...it turned out "OFF THE HOOK!". The extra flavor from the bacon fat added another dimension! I don't understand why people say that cooking can be so difficult. My secret is to cook a big piece of meat on Sunday (Chicken, beef, pork shoulder, etc.), then I have plenty of left-overs the rest of the week to be creative and fast with meals for my husband (tacos, enchiladas, pot-pies, soups, etc.). Get the major cooking out of the way with a big piece of meat on a not so busy day and the possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this as written and found it too salty for my taste. I also had trouble with getting the dough to stick together but that's probably my lack of "dumpling" skill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XASTIEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My daughter and I had a great time making these. They are so simple. We had butter flavored shortening, added some cracked pepper and onion powder. Delicious! They need to be cut thin if you want a noodle -like dumpling ( as she states, 1/8"). We are originally from the North so we don't mind the thicker 'dumpling'. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. We were on a Sunday cooking roll!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These dumplings cooked well and tasted great, but they were kind of heavy even though I rolled them out thinly. What could I do next time to make them fluffier inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wonderfully delicious! I have tried other recipes from this site and I believe I have found my favorite recipe. After reading another reviewers comment about being too salty, I only added 1/2 tsp and they were great. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Pierogi (Polish Dumplings)

Watch how to make this traditional Polish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States