Rolled Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I've made the dumplings from this website a least 100 times over the last few years. Okay, not really 100, but quite a few. They've turned out great EVERY single time! I've only made a few changes. I double, or triple the recipe. I don't sprikle the dumplings lightly with flour, I coat liberally with flour which helps thicken the broth. I also usually add a whole chicken or a few chicken breasts. I use a few spoonfuls of Better than Boullion chicken flavoring to enhance the flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious dumplings. I recommend rolling them out as thin as possible (around 1/8" or less) before cutting, or they will be too heavy. Rolling them out 1/16"-1/8" gives you a light, noodle-like dumpling. These are NOT the puffy, biscuit dumplings. These are dense and taste more like homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Almost like Grandma used to make! She never measured anything, so her recipe is hard to follow. I made half a batch, except I used the full 1/2 cup milk. No problems rolling out. Mixed them up in my Little Oskar food processor. Definitely need to roll them thin. They were very good and I wanted more, but a half batch was plenty for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Very easy to make and delicious. I used this dumpling with my leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I put a little of my leftover gravy in the stock. It made a thick yummy stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Unbelievable...just like moms! I tried this recipe about 2 weeks ago with some chicken broth that I had made from left-over roasted chicken. My 76 year old mom came to dinner and raved about how the dumplings were better than her aunt's. Last week I still had some of the chicken broth (with plenty of chicken in it) in the freezer and was hungry about 10 PM:) I didn't have any shortening so I substituted with 1/4 cup of bacon fat (I always keep left-over bacon fat in a cup in the fridge after I cook it)...it turned out "OFF THE HOOK!". The extra flavor from the bacon fat added another dimension! I don't understand why people say that cooking can be so difficult. My secret is to cook a big piece of meat on Sunday (Chicken, beef, pork shoulder, etc.), then I have plenty of left-overs the rest of the week to be creative and fast with meals for my husband (tacos, enchiladas, pot-pies, soups, etc.). Get the major cooking out of the way with a big piece of meat on a not so busy day and the possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this as written and found it too salty for my taste. I also had trouble with getting the dough to stick together but that's probably my lack of "dumpling" skill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XASTIEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My daughter and I had a great time making these. They are so simple. We had butter flavored shortening, added some cracked pepper and onion powder. Delicious! They need to be cut thin if you want a noodle -like dumpling ( as she states, 1/8"). We are originally from the North so we don't mind the thicker 'dumpling'. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. We were on a Sunday cooking roll!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These dumplings cooked well and tasted great, but they were kind of heavy even though I rolled them out thinly. What could I do next time to make them fluffier inside?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Wonderfully delicious! I have tried other recipes from this site and I believe I have found my favorite recipe. After reading another reviewers comment about being too salty, I only added 1/2 tsp and they were great. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I thought this recipe was spot on. It doubled easily too. I boiled three chicken breasts, with onions, peas and carrots in 2 quarts of chicken stock before adding the dumplings. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Low-Carb Jambalaya

See how to make a tasty, meat-filled jambalaya without all the carbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States