Rolled Buttercream Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Just made this recipe. It was very easy to make but I don't think it tastes like buttercream, it tastes more like divinity. I like divinity but was disapointed as I was expecting a buttercream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan F
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is exactly what I've been looking for!! For years, I've made the Allrecipes Best Rolled Sugar Cookies recipe in combination with a basic buttercream (butter + shortening + vanilla + confectioner's sugar + a splash of milk). While the flavor was always fantastic, it has always bugged me that I could never get a smooth and neat looking cookie like with fondant. Plus, the buttercream never sets, so the cookies weren't stackable. Enter this new Buttercream Fondant recipe. This has the flavor of buttercream and the moldability of fondant! I found that I was able to roll the fondant pretty thin, and use my cookie cutters to get the exact shape of the cookies, and then just place them on top of the cookie with a thin layer of traditional buttercream underneath to help it stick. I took the advice of several reviewers and used half butter and half shortening for better flavor, and added food coloring while combining the corn syrup/butter/shortening. A few times, I had trouble lifting the fondant onto the cookie without it being a little flimsy and tearing. I found that it helped to work on a sheet of parchment paper on a cutting board, so I could stick the whole thing in the freezer for a few minutes first, making it firmer and much easier to pick up and move onto the cookies. I only found it to get greasy after handling it a lot. My taste testers seemed pretty impressed by my new fancy stackable cookies! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the instruction, and it came out very greasy. I would add more sugar, and it would look good, then I would roll it...greasy all over. It was a pain and a half to put on the cake. The fondant began to rip. The only thing it had going for it, is the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I did use only 1/2 cup of shorting like other people have said. It tasted great, but I had a hard time putting it on the cake which is why am giving it 4 starts; it was easy to fix it just toke a lot of time. It was not greasy at all. The only other problem that I had was coloring the fondant. I will use it again. I did double the recipe because I made a 4 tier cake that where the cake size is 9 inches each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My fondant turned out bad. I didnt like it, it tasted good but it looked like a big glob of bubblegum. At first I thought it turned out great. I wrapped it up & put it in the fridge for a few days before I made the cake. But when it came time to use it it was so greasy, morbidly greasy. It would not roll out, I spent 3 hours trying to fix it. I don't know if I did something wrong or what. I added confection sugar to try & make it less greasy & pliable to no avail. Desperate to fix it, I even tried to incorporate melted marshmellows which actually helped alot. In the end I got the top of the cake covered, the rest tore off the edges. My cake turned out alright, I improvised, but I was dissapointed with the fondant itself. It was my first time so it could just be I need practice, I see other peoples turned out good. So who knows, but personally I will try a marshmallow fondant next time. It did taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
my first time with fondant. i ended up adding an extra half bag of icing sugar to get rid of the greasy appearance. i've never actually tasted fondant so i couldn't tell you if it turned out properly. to my husband and i, it tasted like candy corn (the orange, yellow and white candy you get at halloween). it was really easy to use,especially with a fondant roller so that i could make sure that the thickness was even. i found that using it with chocolate butter cream icing on a chocolate cake was way too sweet, but i'm definitely going to make it again to use to decorate sugar cookies. i think it will be perfect for this and lessen the amount of the time it takes to decorate. i'm also excited about using it to decorate the gingerbread house at christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paloma
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I used this recipe to make fondant for the first time ever, I got great comments on the taste, everyone ate all the fondant on their slice (which is great because fondant usually has a weird after taste) that's not the case with this recipe. The only problem is that I found it very hard to handle, it kept tearing apart and it was too greasy, next time I'll use less shortening for sure, hopefully that will make it easier to handle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Not usually a big fondant fan, but this is very easy to make and use, and tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Greaat Recipe! I ran out of confectioners sugar so I used flour instead to keep it from sticking! But it worked just as well! I will upload a picture also! The pink one with the bow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Only gets two stars because of the taste. It is really hard to work with. I had a lot of trouble draping it over my cake. I kept getting holes in it, so I had to roll it thicker, but then it just weighed down my cake and made it look frumpy. Wish it were stiffer. I tried more confectioners sugar to stiffen the fondant. Adding more sugar made it fall apart. Too much of a headache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States